Tres Leches Pina Colada Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I was a little apprehensive about trying this cake. I usually don't favor Tres Leches cake, as it is usually to wet for my taste. This recipe sounded promising and I found that it was perfectly moist, with the right amount of sweetness. The flavor of the cake is on the delicate side so if you are looking for an intense pina colada flavor, or something that is very sweet this cake isn't it. Otherwise enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Everyone that tried it, loved it. Next time, we are going to add some rum to it. Loved the whipped topping, made it a lighter-tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyWife
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
A really moist, light, not over-whelmingly sweet but sweet enough to hit the spot. Really simple to make. Everyone one loved it and had at least two pieces, even people who claimed not to like coconuts could not resist seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I liked this but didn't love it. It was good and unique, though, and a nice summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this for someone that wanted a tres leches cake for his birthday. I have only had Tres Leches once and didn't love it. I looked for alternatives and found this. It was a great hit and I am making it again. This time I am making two so I get some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I made this for a coworker's birthday and everyone loved it!! I thought it was great, but I will definitely substitute rum for the water next time. Easy, light, and delicious! I also used quite a bit more than one tablespoon on top of the cake, probably more like 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLOVERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gobles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missalus
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I liked the flavor, though the texture was a little too wet for me. I think I would cut back on the milk/cream of coconut mixture next time. I used more coconut on top than it called for. Probably a half cup or so. Super easy. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missalus
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Everyone that tried this cake, LOVED it (even people who claim to NOT like cake)! It is not too sweet and not too wet for my liking...just perfect. But, as other reviewers have done, I also used about 1/4 of a cup of toasted coconut on top. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Love this cake! I am not a fan of traditional tres leche cake. It is just too wet. This cake is moist and light and delicious! I made it last week for my family. They loved it. I want to make it again but I'm having trouble finding cream of coconut! I wish I remember where I bought it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I love making this recipe and always get great reviews over it. It's so easy to make and even the latino crowd likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States