Tres Leches Pina Colada Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I was a little apprehensive about trying this cake. I usually don't favor Tres Leches cake, as it is usually to wet for my taste. This recipe sounded promising and I found that it was perfectly moist, with the right amount of sweetness. The flavor of the cake is on the delicate side so if you are looking for an intense pina colada flavor, or something that is very sweet this cake isn't it. Otherwise enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Everyone that tried it, loved it. Next time, we are going to add some rum to it. Loved the whipped topping, made it a lighter-tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Love this cake! I am not a fan of traditional tres leche cake. It is just too wet. This cake is moist and light and delicious! I made it last week for my family. They loved it. I want to make it again but I'm having trouble finding cream of coconut! I wish I remember where I bought it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
My family loved it. I added coconut to the batter, used apple sauce instead of oil, and cut down the water to 1 cup. Also used light cool whip instead of whipping the cream myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Everyone that tried this cake, LOVED it (even people who claim to NOT like cake)! It is not too sweet and not too wet for my liking...just perfect. But, as other reviewers have done, I also used about 1/4 of a cup of toasted coconut on top. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyWife
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
A really moist, light, not over-whelmingly sweet but sweet enough to hit the spot. Really simple to make. Everyone one loved it and had at least two pieces, even people who claimed not to like coconuts could not resist seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Just made this for a party this weekend. I made it in a 9 in round pan, it turned out great, I added some vanilla to the icing and the extra some of the extra pineapple juice to both the cake batter and the icing. It was not too sweet, I especially like how the frosting turned out- nice and light. Most people had seconds and I was asked to make it again! This is a really easy recipe and seemed to be a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan7

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missalus
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I liked the flavor, though the texture was a little too wet for me. I think I would cut back on the milk/cream of coconut mixture next time. I used more coconut on top than it called for. Probably a half cup or so. Super easy. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missalus
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I can't really give this recipe a true review because I couldn't find coconut cream so I just skipped that step. I did everything else as per recipe with an addition of coconut & 3/4 cup flour (my cake mix was smaller than recommended) to the cake mixture. I made about 2.5 dozen cupcakes & they were sooo yummy. I'm going on a hunt for coconut cream and will revisit this recipe when I find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Cake mixes are not as large now. The one I bought, Duncan Heinz,the only one I could find without pudding, was 16.5 ounces, so we added 1.7 ounces of flour. I was worried about whether or not the pineapple should have been drained or not. I didn't drain it. I used more toasted coconut on top, probably about a cup. We also added a little rum to the whipping cream. The cake was a HUGE hit at the dinner party to which we took it. We'll probably cut down on the milk next time. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States