Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This was my first attempt at making a Tres Leches cake, and I see no need to try any other recipe! Fantastic, delicious, and it got rave reviews! Folks said it was the best they ever had. :) I made it exactly as written, except I forgot to let the cake cool before pouring the milks over. I did that while it was hot. It turned out AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Used 2% milk and still delicious. Rave reviews at our party. Easy, no-fail recipe. Real whippd cream is a must. I sprinkled a little cocoa on top to garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This recipe is FABULOUS!!! I followed the recipe to the 'T' and it was perfect! Although I do not like Tres Leches, but my boyfriend-who's from Mexico-LOVED it!! He's could not get enough of this. He asked me to make it again...and again! The second time, I added walnuts to the cake and will add them to the topping, as well. I did add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each one. Other than that, the recipe was flawless!! THANK YOU for sharing this recipe! It is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I love this recipe.. Very simple and delicious. Only thing I did was cut off the ends about an inch and placed in a glass dish so you can see the milk coat the entire cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I followed the directions exactly, but this cake was way too soggy and milky. I'm very disappointed since I heard such good things about Tres Leches cake. I'm going to try a different recipe with less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made two of these cakes for a Mexican luncheon we were having and they were delicious and even better, easy to make. I was amazed that the cake could absorb that much cream mixture and not be a soggy pudding. I think that one cup of sugar for the whipped cream topping was way too much. I doubled the recipe as I had two cakes to frost and used perhaps 1/4 cups of sugar and it was plenty sweet enough. On the picture of this cake, what was sprinkled on the top? Frankie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by robamjac
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I followed the recipe along with all preparation steps exactly. I found the cake soaked up all the liquid within a few minutes. I put many fork holes in it. I also precut the entire cake. Once the liquid soaked in, I put on the topping. Two things about this recipe - The topping is my only complaint with this recipe. I will have to try some different things next time, perhaps less sugar. I also think 30 min in the 9x13 pan is too long. Perhaps 5 minutes less. But, overall, it came out really well. I've added a photo so you can see for yourself how it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Made as written. This was VERY soupy. Maybe it's supposed to be. Over a cup too much milk concoction. Not enough cake to soak it all up. I served with Vanilla Caramel Ice cream. I think it would've been better with half the milk mixture. The milk floating around the sides was just not appealing to me. I guess the flavor was ok. Used Pwd. Sugar instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was my first try at this recipe, so I probably did something wrong, but the cake was not drenched in the three milks as I expected it to be. When the batter is poured into the 9x13 pan (it didn't actually "pour"; I had to push it into the pan with a spatula), is it supposed to be spread evenly in the pan? When the three-milk liquid is poured over the cooked cake, is it supposed to be fully absorbed by the cake over time, in the refrigerator? That didn't happen for me. Can someone tell me what I did wrong? Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I love this recipe. What I've found gets a great reception is instead of using whole milk, using heavy cream as one of the leches. It makes the syrup inside thicker and a delight to spoon over the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 862) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States