Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This is not the best tres leches cake I've tasted, but it is very good. It was easy to make, and everyone enjoyed it. I think it tastes best eaten the day it's made, after sitting in the fridge a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
My son requests this cake every year for his birthday. The only reason I gave it 5 stars is it isn't my favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I've made this cake a couple of weeks ago and the taste was exactly how I remembered it(I had it in a restaurant before). However the quantity of milks made it into a soggy mess! I'll try it again, but will reduce the liquid to a third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaybird
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This cake is amazing! Definitely let it sit in the fridge overnight so all the milks can seep into the cake because there was a big difference in the way the cake tasted the day I made it and the day after. I tried it an hour after I made it and the cake tasted more eggy but after letting it sit overnight the cake tasted just like a store bought tres leches cake. Absolutely perfect cake, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Made this recipe a few weeks ago....easy to make and came out wonderful. Got nothing but complements, satisfaction guaranteed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
My friend has made tres leche cake before, and I fell in love with it. I decided to make my own, and my first problem was the amount of liquid. Way too much! I was expecting it to soak or something, so I let it sit a while but nothing happened. The whipped cream couldn't spread because there was so much liquid and it was just slopping around. The whipped cream was way too sweet. I recommend reducing the amount of sugar put into the whipped cream. Then I ate it, and was incredibly disappointed. It tasted nothing like my friend's. and it was fairly dry and hard on the inside! Even with the liquid. Maybe I did something wrong, but overall it was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
My son-in-law absolutely loved this. My husband did not. It was as I thought it would be so I was very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Delicious! NOTE: USE POWDERED SUGAR FOR THE TOPPING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by gerrietp
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This was a great cake. I made this for my mother-inlaws birthday party and everyone loved it. I only gave it a 4 because I used white box cake instead of the recipe because I was making a larger cake and wasn't sure how it would come out. I plan to make this again going through the whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gerrietp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 862) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States