Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was really yummy and it was a lot like the one I had at a local Cuban restaurant. Everyone liked it! I followed the recipe, except used half the sugar in the whipped cream. It was still very sweet with the half a cup and a cup would have been too sweet for me. When the cake was done baking it was harder than I thought it would be and I had a difficult time getting the milks to soak in. When I poured them on top they only stayed there a minute and then ended up on the bottom of my pan with the cake floating on top! I left it overnight but it still seemed like not much had soaked in so I tried to make my holes in the cake bigger and pushed the cake down so the milks came to the top. Luckily, by the time we ate it later in the day, a lot of it had soaked in (or leaked out of my container, but that's a whole other story. Be careful!). It was a pretty good consistency, though I might like it more if it sat another night and really soaked it all in. The flavor was great though! I will make it again. Next time I may take it out of the oven a little sooner than 30 min to see if it's not as hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I sprinkled shredded sweetened coconut on top. This cake was a hit! Next time I plan to add chopped strawberries. I may also add some flavoured rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I followed the recipe step by step, brought it to our 2014 Christmas party but the taste wasn't good. Honestly, the guests doesn't like the taste at all. Not a great Tres Leches recipe. Sorry... :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
On day 1 the cake did not soak in any of the milk. The cake was floating in the 3 milk mixture...I left this cake in the fridge and sort of forgot but took it out two days later and all the milk was finally soaked in. It did taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashmi Jagadish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I love this recipe. The only thing that I changed was instead of pouring the milk over the cooled cake, I submerged the cool cakes in the milk. The cake turned out very moist but not to the point of falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Unfortunately I didn't realize the beater I had wasn't working so I had to forego the home made whipped topping, but store bought didn't detract from it at all! the recipe is wonderful; easy to make and tastes great! I got rave reviews. Tres Leches cake is the kind that's better after a day in the fridge...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe the first time I wanted to make Tres Leches cake. The cake recipe is just OK for a regular cake. Its missing proper proportions for a moist/fluffy and softer regular cake. But the biggest mistake is - Tres Leches cake is a SPONGE cake soaked in three different kinds of milk, and this recipe is NOT a sponge cake. Two important things about a SPONGE cake is - No butter (fat), and Separate the eggs. The Egg whites are beaten to stiff peaks, and folded into the batter at the final stage before beating. I made the cake again with a Sponge cake recipe (check out Pioneer Woman recipe), and by God! That, my friends, was Tres Leches cake....seriously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sory Mariel Florentino
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
i made this for thanksginving and people loved it!! it was my first time baking and it was very easy and delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made this yesterday for Thanksgiving two days ago. While it was fairly simple to make I felt the recipe was way too watery and I followed it closely the only thing I did differently was use cool whip topping instead of making my own. However before I even put the cool whip topping I noticed how mushy the cake was. Once I had served it although it tasted really good I was upset at how mushy it was. I will make it again but cut down the recipe a bit to make it less watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie Cisneros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New York, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 924) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States