Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I didn't care for this recipe at all! Thank goodness I just made half the recipe. The milk soaked in almost immediately and I refrigerated for 4 hrs. The consistency reminds me of wet cornbread and the taste is very eggy. I don't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I made this recipe as stated and it turned out bad. Especially the frosting. I think instead of heavy whipping cream it should be whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Wonderful recipe! Just tried it today and we love it. It came out great. We used an extra can of condensed milk since we only used 3/4 cup of sugar for the cake recipe. We will never buy tres leches cake again. It is so much better than both restaurant and store bought. Thanks a lot, Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was a wonderful cake, my only complaint was that it was too sweet. BUT, I will say that's my own fault, I did not make a whipped cream frosting and instead used a Cream Cheese Frosting (also found on this website) but I think that overloaded the sugar. No matter, my family loved it anyways and it's very easy to make. I did indeed refrigerate the cake for a whole night soaking in the milk, and it was perfect. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was not only a first-time recipe for me, but the first time I'd had Tres Leches Cake! I baked it for a party and got raves (not a crumb remained), including from Hispanic colleagues. I took other reviews seriously, plus added a tweak of my own. As recommended, I beat one (whole) egg at a time, very well. Some claimed that the cake didn't absorb well so wanting to ensure a "thirsty" result, I substituted ¼ c. of WHITE whole wheat flour (very mild in flavor) for a similar amount of AP flour. I thoroughly poked the hot cake immediately to release steam, let it cool COMPLETELY, and poured off the excess milk and re-added it (1X). The very well-done cake had shrunk from the sides of the pan but conformed perfectly soon after the milks (42 oz!) were added (another 1 - 2 oz. of whole milk would've been no problem). The cake rested (covered) in the refrigerator for a good 8 hours before frosting. While I realize TLC is probably meant to be extremely sweet, even halving the called-for amount of the topping's sugar was overkill+. In future: a whole pint (1 ½ c. was skimpy) of cream, no sugar, and perhaps some Dr. Oetker "Whip it" for stabilizing. I also used a high-quality aluminum (Magic Line) 12 (not 13) x 9 x 3" pan for a deeper cake with 3 #7 flower nails, baked for 35 minutes, and HIGHLY recommend Argo baking powder (similar to Bakewell Cream BP).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This cake was amazing! I made it as written with the exception of soaking the cake overnight once I added the milk to the cake. The only thing I did not like was the gritty-ness of the granulated sugar in the whipped cream. Next time I will use super fine white sugar and see if that helps. The cake was very milky but held its shape and the whipped cream rounds out the whole cake. Simply divine - will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I literally hated Tres Leches cake until I tried this one! I follow the recipe exactly except I do an extra 1/2 batch of the topping. I get requests for this cake all of the time. Super easy to make and so unbelievably delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
It is simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
not the best tres leche cake I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
My family begs me to make it for all family occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 863) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States