Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this for a dinner party. A Guatemalan friend said they reminded her of home. Her suggestion for improvement was to cut off all the "crust" before soaking so that it would be absorbed better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Paukert

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Everyone loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I live in Honduras (Central America) and this is a very common cake here and we eat it a lot. The recipe for the cake is not a good one, it hardly rises so you just get a very flat piece of cake. Definitely have to divide the eggs. I did not like the recipe for the milks either, it was not very tasty... My recipe for the milk mixture is: 2 cans of condensed milk, 1 can of evaporated milk and 1 portion can measure of regular milk, I also add 1 tablespoon of rum and tastes great. Using coconut milk is also really good but that is not regularly used in a tres leches, that would be called something else here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I tried making it and some how it didn't come out fluffy like a cake. It was more of a pancake. However, I'm going to try it again to see if it was just because it was my first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I've made This cake a few times already and Im in the process of baking it again right now(it smells good??) besides it being very delicious it's simple to make! My whole family LOVES it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Gonzalez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LauraB
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was wonderfully rich and decadent! Sweet, creamy vanilla yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This recipe has flavor and is overall a keeper. However, in years of Tres Leche Baking the Eggs definetly need to be seperated. Yokes mixed well with sugar then add the softened butter until combined. Beat egg whites and fold into the yoke mixture. Add flour little by little. Pour into prepared pan. I also add a little powders sugar to the milk mixture and top with cocoa powder. Family Fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I've made this cake several times now and it is always a hit. I have 2 children from El Salvador and they beg me to make it. They say it is better than what you find in any Mexican restaurant. The only change I made (and I only do it occasionally) was to add some cinnamon to the cake mixture. It gives it a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Unfortunately, this had a strong eggy taste that we didn't care for. This was the first Tres Leche cake that my family hasn't devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 889) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States