Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I've made this cake several times now and it is always a hit. I have 2 children from El Salvador and they beg me to make it. They say it is better than what you find in any Mexican restaurant. The only change I made (and I only do it occasionally) was to add some cinnamon to the cake mixture. It gives it a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Unfortunately, this had a strong eggy taste that we didn't care for. This was the first Tres Leche cake that my family hasn't devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
AMAZING!!! made the recipe exactly as written and everyone loved this cake! i added some cocoa powder and banana slices to the top and voila fabulous! When the recipe states to stab with a fork then stab away... my cake had so many holes in it and it took about 5 mins for the milk to be absorbed... (i did lift the edges of the cake a bit to help) such a great recipe will make 100 times over and over! i did cut down on the toppings sugar to 1/3 a cup and it helped quite a bit.. some cakes are way to sweet but this one was spot on perfect! thanks so so so so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Tried this recipe according to directions and it turned out perfectly. It tasted identical to the Tres Leches I had in Nicaragua on my travels. I accidentally bought whole wheat flour and it still turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I just made this for my first time and I would say the recipe is unclear. I beat the whipping cream for a while then add sugar beat and the vanilla last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by __Amanda92
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I took the easy way out, I used yellow cake mix for my cake and followed the rest of recipe as is. Came out delicious, recipe was easy to follow. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
definitely better the 2nd or 3rd day. Very nice vanilla flavor, like vanilla ice cream. If you're expecting a "typical" cake texture, though, this isn't it. It's more like a custard. (Which is fine - I hadn't made this before and had no idea what it was supposed to be like.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Delightfully delicious and it tastes like it takes a lot more effort to make! I did lighten it up by using fat free milks where I could and I did use almond milk instead of whole milk but it didn't taste light in any way. The cake held up well to the liquids and didn't disintegrate like other recipes I have tried in the past. This one is a keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Made for my husband who grew up in authentic Mexican food and he loved it. In fact, kids loved it too! Used about 3/4 of the milks so as not to be too soggy. The frosting/topping was perfect and will be my go to topping for all cakes moving forward. Fabulous and easy Tres Leches Cake recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Delicious cake. Family was ranting and raving about how good it was. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carianna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 881) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States