Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Made as written. This was VERY soupy. Maybe it's supposed to be. Over a cup too much milk concoction. Not enough cake to soak it all up. I served with Vanilla Caramel Ice cream. I think it would've been better with half the milk mixture. The milk floating around the sides was just not appealing to me. I guess the flavor was ok. Used Pwd. Sugar instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was my first try at this recipe, so I probably did something wrong, but the cake was not drenched in the three milks as I expected it to be. When the batter is poured into the 9x13 pan (it didn't actually "pour"; I had to push it into the pan with a spatula), is it supposed to be spread evenly in the pan? When the three-milk liquid is poured over the cooked cake, is it supposed to be fully absorbed by the cake over time, in the refrigerator? That didn't happen for me. Can someone tell me what I did wrong? Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I love this recipe. What I've found gets a great reception is instead of using whole milk, using heavy cream as one of the leches. It makes the syrup inside thicker and a delight to spoon over the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this for a Mexican themed birthday party. I read the reviews that said to separate the eggs, so I did that, and I beat the whites until stiff peaks formed and folded them into the batter. It certainly didn't hurt anything to follow those instructions. It produced a nice sponge cake. The finished cake got rave reviews. Some people asked me if I was of Mexican descent, so props for authenticity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I thought my husband was crazy when he asked me to make this cake - soaked in three milks? Huh? Alas, I found this recipe and he liked it. I toned down the sugar and milk a touch but other than that, he said it was great. Also advise to watch the cake because it browns very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made this cake for a morning tea at work and it has turned out great. The only suggestions that I would make are too add the milk mixture when the cake is still hot and not to add all of it at once! Keep adding bits at a time, letting them absorb and if you don't need all the milk mixture don't use it. That way the cake turns out delicious and creamy without being soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
i tried this cake couple of days ago,its really milky taste its better than zocalo restaurant for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eglennpf67
Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
MADE THIS FOR A PARTY LAST NIGHT AND I WISH YOU COULD'VE HEARD THE RAVE REVIEWS. ONE MAN SAID IT IS THE BEST DESSERT HE HAS EVER HAD. SOME OF THE LADIES SAID "YOU NAILED IT!". I NEVER HAD THIS TYPE OF CAKE BEFORE AND I WAS SO PLEASED. IT'S EASY TO MAKE AND IF YOU FOLLOW DIRECTIONS, IT COMES OUT PERFECT. THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING. CAN'T WAIT TO MAKE THIS AGAIN!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The taste was good, but I had a bunch of extra milk mixture left over and the whipped cream was grainy - - should have should powdered sugar.. I'd try this recipe again but with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Amazing exactly as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 895) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States