Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This cake is a hit! I have to make it every time we go somewhere... people expects me to bring it! I do not modify the recipe, it is perfect as it is the only thing that I add is fresh sliced fruit on top, strawberries and mango are my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
The best cake I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made it as a Birthday Cake. I decorated it with strawberries instead of the cream mix. They were all begging for more LOL. I followed the advice of one of the people that commented, I whipped the yoke and the egg whites and it came out much better than the fist time I followed the recipe. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This is one of THE MOST DELICIOUS cakes I have ever baked!!! Thank you for an amazing recipe. It was a big hit at home and work. A few tips from my baking experience... 1) Add 1/4 tsp baking soda to the dry ingredients to help the cake rise really well. 2) When you mix the wet ingredients, add the eggs one at a time and beat well after each one. (I did not need to separate the eggs to get the cake to rise.) 3) Try letting the cake cool in the pan for an hour, then transfer it to a sheet pan. THEN poke holes in it after it's cooled. I used a wooden skewer and poked about 50 holes. Poke all the way to the bottom of the cake. Pour the cream mixture gradually over the cake. When it collects in the sheet pan, drain it into a bowl and start over. Takes a little time, but your cake will be really moist. 4) Let it sit overnight if you have the time. That also makes the cake super moist. 5) Use a little less sugar in the whipped cream if this is kind of rich for you. Fruit on top also adds a nice flavor and cuts the sweetness. TRY THIS RECIPE!!! It's incredible. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
We used to buy this cake at fiesta market , now I'm making it home. And tastes as great as the Fiesta one. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I've made this recipe twice for my hispanic co-workers and they rave about it. This recipe is very authentic and super easy to make. My only suggestions are to make sure that the butter and eggs are room tempeture, and I cut the sugar for the topping down to 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup. This makes the topping a little less sweet and you can taste the cake/milk more. Very good cake...will continue to make it for special occasions, as it's been a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Super easy recipe and absolutely delicious! It gets better the next day so I would suggest making it the night before you plan to serve it and chilling it in the fridge overnight. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made this cake for a family in our church who only speak Spanish and the rest of us don't. They look at some of the foods we have on the coffee table/coffee hour after church. I actually made three of these cakes at the same time because I knew of two other people who are Hispanic and speak Spanish also. I gave the cake to the family who cried with joy, the other two people were pleased greatly. The wife asked me for the recipe, it was a lot better than her mother in laws and she wanted to serve it to friends that were coming in town. I tasted the cake and loved it. I am diabetic so only had a forkful. It got raves from everyone. WOW! Ten stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I was a little apprehensive about serving this "soggy" cake to my somewhat picky extended family, but it was a bit hit at our Mexican-themed Dinner and a Movie last night! I know I will be asked to make this again! With the exception of taking SERENA's advice (creaming the butter first and adding the eggs one at a time), I followed this recipe to the letter. I have had Tres Leches cake in Mexico many times, and this tasted very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Very disappointing! I followed your recipe to the letter but this was a real lemon! It had big holes in it, was stodgy and didn't absorb the liquid. Cannot serve this to guests so have to start from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 912) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States