Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Wow!!! This recipe is fantastic. I made this for my son's b-day party, exactly as written, and the cake was gone within minutes. I made another one the very next day and again all gone!!!! Make it you won't be dissapointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I've only ever had Tres Leches at Costa Vida (Mexican restaurant) - so that's all I have to compare it to. Definitely not as good as that restaurant's cake, but I still loved this homemade one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this cake for a work party, and everyone absolutely loved it! All I heard was that the cake was divine! Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Very easy to make. It beats any Tres Leches you find in the markets. My Hispanic friends fell in Love with it and now I get request for it for their Holiday Dinners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I made this cake and everyone loved it. I had it in one of the restaurants in Peru and it was totally amazing. This recipe produces a very similar version of the cake I ate except the cake is slightly tougher. I would prefer a slightly softer cake. But that aside, this is a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Precious Stone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I never had this cake before and it was too sweet for my taste, but my Venezuelan friend (and birthday girl) LOVED it, as well as our other friends. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
We have never tried a milk cake before so I thought this recipe might be one for us to try as a family. Everyone was very impressed with the taste and moistness of this cake. I put the topping on individually for everyone with a sprinkle of cinnamon or not depending on taste. We all enjoyed this cake very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This is such a unique cake. I made it for dessert for a Mexican themes dinner I brought someone. She's since made it a couple times for others as well. I was nervous about putting the whole amount if liquid on top, but it turns out great as is. If you don't want it soaked, just pour about 3/4 of the liquid on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Manor Hunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Everyone absolutely loves this. I made this using a regular yellow cake with a few substitutions. Milk instead of water, butter instead of oil, and 4 eggs instead of 3. I baked the cake according to the package instructions. In the liquids poured over the cake, I reduced the amount of regulare milk to one cup. I also used 1% milk since it's all we had. This cake is a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Made this for my boyfriend's birthday. I added a few drops coconut extract. I also followed the advice of other reviewers and beat the egg whites separately before adding them to the batter (sugar, butter, flour mixture, and egg yolks). I baked in a smaller pan--8 x 11.5 I think. WHEN I make this again, I think I'll cut back a bit on the sugar (maybe cut 1/2 from the whipped cream to start.) Otherwise, this got rave reviews from my boyfriend and his entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seguin, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States