Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Yum! The texture is a bit grainy, and the next day there was still quite a bit of milk that wasn't soaked up, but the flavor is great and the it's moist and yummy. I used salted butter because that's all I had and it was fine. I also did not use 1 cup of sugar for the whipped cream topping. I only used about two tablespoons. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gebege
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This cake was AMAZING! I will definitely make it again and again. My 3 yr old daughter said "this cake is so yummy you need to make it everyday".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I had no luck with the actual cake part of the recipe. My cake ended up flat and heavy despite following the recipe to the t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and my cake turned out very firm and chewy. There was way too much milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabriela Delgadillo
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
1st time making it and everyone loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I'm so disappointed with this cake. I was very picky and careful I'm choosing which recipe to use. I poured the batter and immediately knew it was too thick. After baking it was hard and flat. Still being optimistic I poured the milk mixture and refrigerated overnight. The milk didn't absorb and it was awful. I'm so upset I wasted my only eggs and milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tasha Renee
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made this cake for my boyfriend's birthday today. It was absolutely delicious, but we found it to have too much milk in the bottom of the pan. Next time I might try a 1/4 cup less milk in the milk mixture. Still an absolute winner in our book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
It truly is a great Tres Leches but here are a few very important steps taught to me by a Honduran friends mom. IMPORTANT!! Take the cake out when done to cool, don't touch it, turn off the oven & set the timer for 5 mins. After 5 mins THEN poke the holes in the cake using the large end of a chopstick making larger holes then fork tines, pour the liquid on the top & RETURN to the off oven for 10 mins. The reasons. 1) the cake is still cooking when you take it out so poking holes at that time reseals them, hence no absorption. 2) the dwindling heat slowly forces the liquid into the cake. Also, I substitute a cup of coconut "cream" NOT coconut "milk", for whole milk. Proceed with the topping when cooled. You will be shocked how unbelievably moist but non soupy this turns out when done this way. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I made this but it really was too much liquid. Maybe this is how it is supposed to be but I felt like it was too much milk. There was so much that the cake was literally floating in it. Everything else was great and tastes amazing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
So good and easy to follow! If you prefer desserts that don't spike your blood sugar levels, then cut the sugar in half for both the batter and whipped cream. Still equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 913) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States