Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Muchogusto
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
K just made this 2 ways. First off, if you made this just as directed...slap yourself. I'm Mexican and I looked at this recipe as well as Spanish YouTube recipe videos (for authenticity verification purposes) and in YouTube the recipe was almost the same EXCEPT, all the videos said to separate the eggs and beat the whites until thick then add yolks then follow recipe as normal. Difference is night and day I tell ya!!! I made both versions at the same time. The one where I beat the whites rose about 50% more not to mention so much fluffier. It even tasted way better. I had no idea it would make such a difference. I took a picture let me see if I could upload...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
My whole family loved this recipe I just added strawberries on the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alejandra Rios
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
Well this cake is ok, but just not for me. I think it tastes like shortcake soaked in milk. It would probably be very good with strawberries, but I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
I am a caterer and made this cake yesterday for an event. My clients loved it! The ONLY thing I varied from the recipe is that I used RediWhip instead of the heavy whipping cream, which I had but didn't read the directions carefully. I am making another today for family and friends. For all of you that say the cake was too wet, you need to make sure you let is soak. Takes several hours up to 24. The liquid that remains after the cake is GREAT in coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Helms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Really good, turned out great! After going through reviews, I used 1 cup of half n half, along with the evap milk and sweetened condensed milk. I mistakenly added the mixed milks after poking my still warm cake. However, it was fine. Within minutes,all the milk was absorbed, so not a bad way to go. I did refrigerate it for a few hours before icing. I also reduced the sugar with the whipping cream to a heaping 1/3 cup of confection sugar, along with the tsp of vanilla. I will add sliced strawberries to the top after looking at all the lovely pictures! Thanks for posting this recipe, its a keeper. Can't wait to have a piece with coffee in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
The best Tres Leches cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I made the recipe actually as written. the cake batter appeared alittle dense when it comes out which is perfect to absorb the milk mixture. the milk quantity was right on. the cake was absolutely delicious, easy and authentic tasting. It has possibility experiment with. i saw a review to use egg nog or flavored rum. thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jitzyG
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Yes , I just make this cake and everybody loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
The only thing I changed was replacing heavy cream with the whole milk, it was absolutely delicious everyone in my family loves it, I have to make it once a week now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I made this for my boss. It is his favorite cake. I have never made this before so I followed the recipe to a T. I was very nervous but everybody raved over how good the cake was...which was a huge compliment considering the are from Central America. I was asked to make it again. So I will be using this recipe for all of my tres leches requests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 928) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States