Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I made this cake yesterday and it turned out very well. I live on the Mexican border so I have had this cake many times in restaurants and at parties. I did make a few changes to lesson the calorie and fat content and it still tasted authentic. First I would tell you to read the directions carefully. The cake has 3 parts ; batter,filling and topping. The first 6 ingredients make the batter. Be sure to put only one cup of sugar in the batter not 2. The next 3 ingredients make the 3 milk mixture for the filling hence the name three milk cake. I chose not to use whole milk but used 1% and used only 1 cup along with the other 2 milks. I made the cake in a 9x13 pan not a round pan as seen in the picture. The cake was a little flat but that is ok because as you add the 3 milk mixture it expands . After the cake was done I pierced the cake many times with a fork , all over the cake. You want to make a lot of holes for the milk to saturate the cake. After you pour the milk on , you want to cover with foil and refrigerate for several hours. I chose to use cool whip as the topping instead of the whipping cream-sugar mixture. That cut down on a lot of the calories and was very good. After I covered the saturated cake with cool whip I covered with foil again and refrigerated for another several hours. You want it to be very cold when you serve it. I know this has been long but wanted to share my changes and suggestions on making this cake. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1550 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I am from Panama and have been making this cake for over 20 years and am constantly making changes to make it even better. This is my favorite cake ever and it is always a hit! A few suggestions: 1 - The toppings can vary from cherries to coconut to cajeta (caramelized milk). 2 - I never use regular milk or whipping cream. Instead I use half & half. I also recommend using either eggnog or coconut milk. 3 - Most of the time, I don't make the cake from scratch - instead I use white cake mix (I don't recommend the butter cake mix for this recipe). When the cake is ready, I cut off the sides and the top to let the cake soak up the milk. 4 - Always let the cake sit overnight in the fridge...letting the cake soak up the milk makes it even better! Plus this way you can decide whether to take out the milk or leave it in (I like to leave it all in). 5 - Kahlua and Rum adds a great kick to this cake!!! I've even heard of tequila-lime tres leches. Basically this is such a versatile recipe with millions of ways to make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I love Tres Leches cake but this is not the best recipe. The eggs need to be separated, and the whites beaten prior to adding them to the batter. I have done it both ways, and despite the extra work, separating the eggs is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1028 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
My recipe is nearly identical - except I follow a slightly different method for making the cake portion - beat the butter first, for a few minutes until it is a light yellow color - then add the sugar and beat on high until it is very pale - add eggs one at a time (beating for 20 seconds between each egg); then add vanilla and beat for one more minute. Add flour mixture a little at a time and mix until batter is smooth (my batter is always a bit thick). For a slightly better rise in the cake add 1/4 tsp baking soda with the baking powder. I like to use 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup whole milk (essentially half and half) instead of all regular milk... provides a creamier flavor. Can be made without the whipped topping if you prefer - it's good with or without it. You will NOT be disappointed in this cake - very very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
394 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This is the second recipe that I have tried for Tres Leches, and it came out perfect. I read all of the previous reviews, and I must disagree with several of the earlier comments. This cake does not taste eggy (I used 5 large eggs, maybe the other guy used jumbo). Using a 13x9 pan, the thickness was just right, about 1-1/4" high (cake portion). There was not too much liquid. I found the amount of liquid to be almost perfect. The only problem was having to wait a while for it all to soak in. I did not want to wait any longer, so I had to dump a few ounces, so I could proceed to the frosting stage. Once I was serving the cake, I found that it was totally moist, but I would have preferred some excess milk mixture at the bottom, which this one did not produce (the amount missing was just about the amount I threw out), so I think the recipe is probably perfect on quantities and perfect on cooking instructions. Out of 7 people at my dinner party, 6 loved the cake and one was neutral. Thank you Stephanie for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Overall this is a very good recipe. To ensure you have a good cake, make sure you mix the batter halves exactly. To get a good rise to the cake, make you you whip the egg whites to merenge-like batter. Then gently fold in the the flour batter until blended. Do not overmix or your cake will be flat. Bake cake until you have a nice brown top where a toohpick comes out clean and cool. (Hint: in a confection oven, I bake this at 325 degrees for 20 minutes.) As far as the milk mixture goes, I omit the whole milk and just blend together the three milks (hence the name Tres Leches) heavy cream, evaporated milk, and condensed milk together. After you have punched holes into the made cake, pour half the milk mixture into the cake. The cake will absorb the mixture. Refrigerate at least an hour. When serving, I cut out squares of cake out, not using the cake sides. I place a square cake serving into a small bowl. I pour milk mixture on top of the cake until it is all the way to the top or half way to the cake. A small dab of whipped topping and topped with a maraschino cherry and decorate with a tinge of cherry juice over the whipped topping. By the time you will serve this, the milk mixture will be absorbed into the cake. For my tough family of food critics, this recipe gets rave reviews! Thank you for shraing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
Marti, Your recipe is wonderful...yours was the second (out of four) recipe I tried and I'm not going any further...I am from Nicaragua, where this cake originated and your recipe came very, very close with the following exceptions: 1. Use 2 14-oz cans of condensed milk and 2. Use only 10 oz of evaporated milk (2 5-oz cans) Thank you for your recipe...great start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
I have made this cake several times. The last time I made it, I decided to double the cake recipe, because I thought the cake was too thin. (Although, I have never recvd any complaints from my customers.) I was told that when I doubled the cake, there were areas where it was too dry and there was not enough of the liquid. There is no need to fix what is not broke!! The original recipe is a hit and the best tres leches recipe on the web. It is very easy and as one of my customers put it, "simply divine!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This is my husband's favorite cake - the one he's requested for his birthday two years running. I used to think it needed more liquid and therefore added another can of condensed with another cup of whole milk, but last time I made it just the way it's written (except that I still decreased the sugar in the whipped cream), and it's *perfect*. Absolutely, positively perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
This was just ok. I've never made Tres Leches before and so I wasn't sure how it was supposed to turn out. I used about 1/2 a cup of cream of coconut along with the rest of the milk due to some reviewers commenting on how it was not sweet enough. Mine turned out perfect in the sweet dept. but it was like a soggy pound cake. The taste was good and it held together well, but it's not something I'll make again in the near future. Thanks anyway Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 863) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States