Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This cake was so easy to make, no need to leave it overnight. I didn't use milk, I used heavy whipping cream 2 cups, 1 can of condensed milk and one can of evaporated milk. I also cut the sides of the cake and cut the servings in small squares after making the wholes all over the cake, and than poured the 3 milk mix on top and on the sides. The cake absorved the liquid so fast and it stayed moist. For the topping I did not use a whole cup of sugar, I used a little over 1/2 cup and it was perfect! Everybody LOVED it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia53bb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Flavor is bad. Different from other tres leche recipes on line. Milk never absorded in cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Too much milk for the cake to absorb. The bottom was soggy! The top a bit dry. On the plus side it was devoured at the party I brought it too, but I was embarrassed to say I had made it. Good taste,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
my family loves it just added 1/4 cup more of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Super delicious. I subtract one cup of milk and add a tablespoon of rum to the milk recipe!! YUM YUM And I use a different recipe for the vanilla cake so its not extremely soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made this for a Cinco De Mayo party because it was the only dessert I could think of for my theme that wasn't flan. Since then I have been asked to make it again because these cakes can't easily be purchased anywhere. I think I will make it every year because I'm sure some of guest will be looking forward to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I have made this recipe twice and each time it has come out fantastic...I love this cake. Going to make it using eggnog in place of milk this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by damiko56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunbury, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Not as good as I had hoped for. My family didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this as part of Thanksgiving dessert for my fiancé's family in Miami. Everybody said it was the best tres leches they have ever eaten! I used skim milk instead of whole and only put 1/4 cup sugar instead of 1 cup in the whipped cream. It was still very rich and creamy. The amount of liquid is perfect. It was just enough to be fully absorbed with no dry spots. We just ate it yesterday and people are already asking me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
My daughter loves Tres Leches cake and wanted to make one to take to Thanksgiving dinner and found this recipe. I didn't think I would like it (soggy cake?) but let her make it anyway. Boy was I wrong! It is so delicious and everyone has requested she make it again for Christmas. She followed the recipe except for one minor change -- used only 1/4 cup of sugar in the whipped topping. This is NOT soggy cake -- it is heaven in every bite! The only down side? There were no leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 850) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States