Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
definitely better the 2nd or 3rd day. Very nice vanilla flavor, like vanilla ice cream. If you're expecting a "typical" cake texture, though, this isn't it. It's more like a custard. (Which is fine - I hadn't made this before and had no idea what it was supposed to be like.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Delightfully delicious and it tastes like it takes a lot more effort to make! I did lighten it up by using fat free milks where I could and I did use almond milk instead of whole milk but it didn't taste light in any way. The cake held up well to the liquids and didn't disintegrate like other recipes I have tried in the past. This one is a keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Made for my husband who grew up in authentic Mexican food and he loved it. In fact, kids loved it too! Used about 3/4 of the milks so as not to be too soggy. The frosting/topping was perfect and will be my go to topping for all cakes moving forward. Fabulous and easy Tres Leches Cake recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Delicious cake. Family was ranting and raving about how good it was. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carianna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this exactly as printed and didn't like it all. I found the cake to be very mealy and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
The milk mixture is by itself veeerry sweet and the whipped cream was WAYYYYY too sweet for me. I think the recipe is good and the milk-to-cake ratio was perfect. However, next time, I'm going to halve the condensed milk and sugar in the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I've made this cake multiple times just as the recipes days and everyone loves it!!! I will continue to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This recipe is idiot-proof. I mixed it using my bare hands only with a toddler crawling on my leg. The batter held up to me switching from 1/3 ratio and then just adding in another 1/3 when I realized I wanted more cake. The cake came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
this was wonderfully i have eatin these kind of cakes and this came out exactly like its suppose to taste. i made no changes and followed the recipe to the t and the cake was wonderful not crumby at all just wonderful . will make again my family love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
My husbands from Mexico and we visit a lot and this cake is amazing! The hubby loved it so its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 904) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States