Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
We used to buy this cake at fiesta market , now I'm making it home. And tastes as great as the Fiesta one. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I've made this recipe twice for my hispanic co-workers and they rave about it. This recipe is very authentic and super easy to make. My only suggestions are to make sure that the butter and eggs are room tempeture, and I cut the sugar for the topping down to 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup. This makes the topping a little less sweet and you can taste the cake/milk more. Very good cake...will continue to make it for special occasions, as it's been a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Super easy recipe and absolutely delicious! It gets better the next day so I would suggest making it the night before you plan to serve it and chilling it in the fridge overnight. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made this cake for a family in our church who only speak Spanish and the rest of us don't. They look at some of the foods we have on the coffee table/coffee hour after church. I actually made three of these cakes at the same time because I knew of two other people who are Hispanic and speak Spanish also. I gave the cake to the family who cried with joy, the other two people were pleased greatly. The wife asked me for the recipe, it was a lot better than her mother in laws and she wanted to serve it to friends that were coming in town. I tasted the cake and loved it. I am diabetic so only had a forkful. It got raves from everyone. WOW! Ten stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I was a little apprehensive about serving this "soggy" cake to my somewhat picky extended family, but it was a bit hit at our Mexican-themed Dinner and a Movie last night! I know I will be asked to make this again! With the exception of taking SERENA's advice (creaming the butter first and adding the eggs one at a time), I followed this recipe to the letter. I have had Tres Leches cake in Mexico many times, and this tasted very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Very disappointing! I followed your recipe to the letter but this was a real lemon! It had big holes in it, was stodgy and didn't absorb the liquid. Cannot serve this to guests so have to start from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Very tasty. A little too sweet for my taste, but otherwise fantastic. I did use Cool Whip instead of making the topping and added strawberries which helped to tone down the super sugary taste of the condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcsanady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This is not the best tres leches cake I've tasted, but it is very good. It was easy to make, and everyone enjoyed it. I think it tastes best eaten the day it's made, after sitting in the fridge a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
My son requests this cake every year for his birthday. The only reason I gave it 5 stars is it isn't my favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I've made this cake a couple of weeks ago and the taste was exactly how I remembered it(I had it in a restaurant before). However the quantity of milks made it into a soggy mess! I'll try it again, but will reduce the liquid to a third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States