Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe the first time I wanted to make Tres Leches cake. The cake recipe is just OK for a regular cake. Its missing proper proportions for a moist/fluffy and softer regular cake. But the biggest mistake is - Tres Leches cake is a SPONGE cake soaked in three different kinds of milk, and this recipe is NOT a sponge cake. Two important things about a SPONGE cake is - No butter (fat), and Separate the eggs. The Egg whites are beaten to stiff peaks, and folded into the batter at the final stage before beating. I made the cake again with a Sponge cake recipe (check out Pioneer Woman recipe), and by God! That, my friends, was Tres Leches cake....seriously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sory Mariel Florentino
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
i made this for thanksginving and people loved it!! it was my first time baking and it was very easy and delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made this yesterday for Thanksgiving two days ago. While it was fairly simple to make I felt the recipe was way too watery and I followed it closely the only thing I did differently was use cool whip topping instead of making my own. However before I even put the cool whip topping I noticed how mushy the cake was. Once I had served it although it tasted really good I was upset at how mushy it was. I will make it again but cut down the recipe a bit to make it less watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie Cisneros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New York, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this today, it was very good BUT there was a lot of milk in the bottom of the pan. It was not all absorbed into the cake. Is this normal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I made this for my husbands birthday. It is his favorite and he LOVED it. We all did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
AMAZING! Super easy! My 9-year old made this! Looked like a professional made it. NOTES: 1) We added orange flavoring along with vanilla. WOW! 2) We put in fridge overnight and frosting firmed up. Made it even more impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Havelock, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Really yummy but sweeter than I like. I will 1/2 the Sugar in the whipped cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this for a dinner party. A Guatemalan friend said they reminded her of home. Her suggestion for improvement was to cut off all the "crust" before soaking so that it would be absorbed better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Paukert

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 916) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States