Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was not only a first-time recipe for me, but the first time I'd had Tres Leches Cake! I baked it for a party and got raves (not a crumb remained), including from Hispanic colleagues. I took other reviews seriously, plus added a tweak of my own. As recommended, I beat one (whole) egg at a time, very well. Some claimed that the cake didn't absorb well so wanting to ensure a "thirsty" result, I substituted ¼ c. of WHITE whole wheat flour (very mild in flavor) for a similar amount of AP flour. I thoroughly poked the hot cake immediately to release steam, let it cool COMPLETELY, and poured off the excess milk and re-added it (1X). The very well-done cake had shrunk from the sides of the pan but conformed perfectly soon after the milks (42 oz!) were added (another 1 - 2 oz. of whole milk would've been no problem). The cake rested (covered) in the refrigerator for a good 8 hours before frosting. While I realize TLC is probably meant to be extremely sweet, even halving the called-for amount of the topping's sugar was overkill+. In future: a whole pint (1 ½ c. was skimpy) of cream, no sugar, and perhaps some Dr. Oetker "Whip it" for stabilizing. I also used a high-quality aluminum (Magic Line) 12 (not 13) x 9 x 3" pan for a deeper cake with 3 #7 flower nails, baked for 35 minutes, and HIGHLY recommend Argo baking powder (similar to Bakewell Cream BP).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This cake was amazing! I made it as written with the exception of soaking the cake overnight once I added the milk to the cake. The only thing I did not like was the gritty-ness of the granulated sugar in the whipped cream. Next time I will use super fine white sugar and see if that helps. The cake was very milky but held its shape and the whipped cream rounds out the whole cake. Simply divine - will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I literally hated Tres Leches cake until I tried this one! I follow the recipe exactly except I do an extra 1/2 batch of the topping. I get requests for this cake all of the time. Super easy to make and so unbelievably delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
It is simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
not the best tres leche cake I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
My family begs me to make it for all family occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This cake is a hit! I have to make it every time we go somewhere... people expects me to bring it! I do not modify the recipe, it is perfect as it is the only thing that I add is fresh sliced fruit on top, strawberries and mango are my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
The best cake I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made it as a Birthday Cake. I decorated it with strawberries instead of the cream mix. They were all begging for more LOL. I followed the advice of one of the people that commented, I whipped the yoke and the egg whites and it came out much better than the fist time I followed the recipe. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This is one of THE MOST DELICIOUS cakes I have ever baked!!! Thank you for an amazing recipe. It was a big hit at home and work. A few tips from my baking experience... 1) Add 1/4 tsp baking soda to the dry ingredients to help the cake rise really well. 2) When you mix the wet ingredients, add the eggs one at a time and beat well after each one. (I did not need to separate the eggs to get the cake to rise.) 3) Try letting the cake cool in the pan for an hour, then transfer it to a sheet pan. THEN poke holes in it after it's cooled. I used a wooden skewer and poked about 50 holes. Poke all the way to the bottom of the cake. Pour the cream mixture gradually over the cake. When it collects in the sheet pan, drain it into a bowl and start over. Takes a little time, but your cake will be really moist. 4) Let it sit overnight if you have the time. That also makes the cake super moist. 5) Use a little less sugar in the whipped cream if this is kind of rich for you. Fruit on top also adds a nice flavor and cuts the sweetness. TRY THIS RECIPE!!! It's incredible. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States