Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I just made this for my first time and I would say the recipe is unclear. I beat the whipping cream for a while then add sugar beat and the vanilla last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by __Amanda92
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I took the easy way out, I used yellow cake mix for my cake and followed the rest of recipe as is. Came out delicious, recipe was easy to follow. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
definitely better the 2nd or 3rd day. Very nice vanilla flavor, like vanilla ice cream. If you're expecting a "typical" cake texture, though, this isn't it. It's more like a custard. (Which is fine - I hadn't made this before and had no idea what it was supposed to be like.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Delightfully delicious and it tastes like it takes a lot more effort to make! I did lighten it up by using fat free milks where I could and I did use almond milk instead of whole milk but it didn't taste light in any way. The cake held up well to the liquids and didn't disintegrate like other recipes I have tried in the past. This one is a keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Made for my husband who grew up in authentic Mexican food and he loved it. In fact, kids loved it too! Used about 3/4 of the milks so as not to be too soggy. The frosting/topping was perfect and will be my go to topping for all cakes moving forward. Fabulous and easy Tres Leches Cake recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Delicious cake. Family was ranting and raving about how good it was. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carianna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this exactly as printed and didn't like it all. I found the cake to be very mealy and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
The milk mixture is by itself veeerry sweet and the whipped cream was WAYYYYY too sweet for me. I think the recipe is good and the milk-to-cake ratio was perfect. However, next time, I'm going to halve the condensed milk and sugar in the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I've made this cake multiple times just as the recipes days and everyone loves it!!! I will continue to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This recipe is idiot-proof. I mixed it using my bare hands only with a toddler crawling on my leg. The batter held up to me switching from 1/3 ratio and then just adding in another 1/3 when I realized I wanted more cake. The cake came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States