Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Our new Tres Leches Recipe. I made as is and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I have made this cake three times now, and this is what I learned in my own personal test kitchen: 1) I don't bother separating the eggs: If you beat the egg whites separately (as other reviewers recommend), the remaining batter is so dry (with only the butter and egg yolks for moisture, it is almost like a paste), that at the time of folding in the beaten egg whites, you loose most of the air you have just beaten into them. I have done it both ways, and saw little to no difference. I did add ¼ tsp baking soda to help the baking powder raise the cake. 2) More leche please! For my taste, even with one can of condensed milk, one of evaporated and 2 of half and half, the cake needed more liquid. This may depend on personal taste, but for me a tres leches has to be oozing liquid. 3) If you are like me, and once a cake is made you can't stop eating, try half the recipe in an 8x8 pan and half all the ingredients. The original 5 eggs can be best split as 2 whole and 1 separated egg white. Leaving out the third yolk, also cuts on the eggy taste (which is not overpowering - the smell in the fresh cake is stronger than the taste in the finished recipe). 4) I used confectioner’s sugar for the whipping cream 5) Don’t hold back on plucking holes: This is what gets the liquid into the cake. The more the better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This recipe was the recipe that made my now husband fall even more in love with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I'm from S. TX, mexican, and had never tasted a tres leches cake. I made this for a friends birthday and EVERYONE LOVED this cake. Majority of the people are from Texas too and they all said it was just like home! I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the cake batter. Decreased the whole milk to one cup. Made my own whipped cream and sprinkled cinnamon on top. I made the cake the day before serving but was told the leftovers the next day were even better as the milk had soaked in even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I keep making this over and over again...it's been a HUGE hit with family and friends!!! Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Made the cake for a Mexican dinner. Followed the recipe exact, but only used 3/4C of sugar with 2C of whipping cream. The sweetness was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
First time making it. I was nervous it wouldnt come out well. I used the tips with milk and using 1% instead of whole. When I poured in all the milk into the cake, it was all absorbed, no waiting and i thought it wasnt going to be enough. I did, however, poke the out of the cake haha. I let it set over night and just put faith in the recipe....And it was FABULOUS! It doesnt need whip cream either. Also must note, i was one egg short and you would never be able to tell. Will be making this for my Father in laws birthday! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chi2H-Town

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Great for freezing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I was not impressed. It's quite rare for me to leave a bad review, but I would not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I've never posted a review before, but this cake was awesome. I followed the recipe to the letter, and it was absolutely lovely. The biggest problem I have with it is that I have no idea how I'm going to avoid eating all the leftovers right this very minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States