Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I made this cake two weeks ago for the first time because my fifteen year old requested it for his birthday after having tasted one at a school event. Everyone at our house liked it, and I am now making one for Easter Sunday. When searching for a recipe I noticed many recipes call for separating and beating the egg whites before adding to batter, resulting in a more spongelike cake. I prefer this recipe because it's simpler to make and I like the density of the cake. Thanks for a simply satisfying yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamaduke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saultchef
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Overall the taste is delicious. The recipe was pretty simple and simple to follow. But I agree with a previous reviewer who said the cake tasted a little eggy and the whipped topping was too sweet. That's why I gave it a 4 instead of five. Next time I cut down on both. Just a bit to sweet for my taste but overall very good tres leches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Our new Tres Leches Recipe. I made as is and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I have made this cake three times now, and this is what I learned in my own personal test kitchen: 1) I don't bother separating the eggs: If you beat the egg whites separately (as other reviewers recommend), the remaining batter is so dry (with only the butter and egg yolks for moisture, it is almost like a paste), that at the time of folding in the beaten egg whites, you loose most of the air you have just beaten into them. I have done it both ways, and saw little to no difference. I did add ¼ tsp baking soda to help the baking powder raise the cake. 2) More leche please! For my taste, even with one can of condensed milk, one of evaporated and 2 of half and half, the cake needed more liquid. This may depend on personal taste, but for me a tres leches has to be oozing liquid. 3) If you are like me, and once a cake is made you can't stop eating, try half the recipe in an 8x8 pan and half all the ingredients. The original 5 eggs can be best split as 2 whole and 1 separated egg white. Leaving out the third yolk, also cuts on the eggy taste (which is not overpowering - the smell in the fresh cake is stronger than the taste in the finished recipe). 4) I used confectioner’s sugar for the whipping cream 5) Don’t hold back on plucking holes: This is what gets the liquid into the cake. The more the better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This recipe was the recipe that made my now husband fall even more in love with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I'm from S. TX, mexican, and had never tasted a tres leches cake. I made this for a friends birthday and EVERYONE LOVED this cake. Majority of the people are from Texas too and they all said it was just like home! I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the cake batter. Decreased the whole milk to one cup. Made my own whipped cream and sprinkled cinnamon on top. I made the cake the day before serving but was told the leftovers the next day were even better as the milk had soaked in even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I keep making this over and over again...it's been a HUGE hit with family and friends!!! Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Made the cake for a Mexican dinner. Followed the recipe exact, but only used 3/4C of sugar with 2C of whipping cream. The sweetness was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
First time making it. I was nervous it wouldnt come out well. I used the tips with milk and using 1% instead of whole. When I poured in all the milk into the cake, it was all absorbed, no waiting and i thought it wasnt going to be enough. I did, however, poke the out of the cake haha. I let it set over night and just put faith in the recipe....And it was FABULOUS! It doesnt need whip cream either. Also must note, i was one egg short and you would never be able to tell. Will be making this for my Father in laws birthday! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chi2H-Town

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 862) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States