Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
My Cince de Mayo party guests went on and on about how good this cake was. After all the spicy food this was a nice "cool down". Perfect fiesta recipe because you make it ahead of time. I used maple syrup to sweeten the whipped cream to taste with good results. Not too sweet. Thanks Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I loved this cake, like the other posts I cut the sugar in half for the topping and it was perfect. Even people who don't normally like Tres Leches cake enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
love the taste however, i dont think the batter makes enough to really soak up the "milk" filling. also for the whipped cream instead of regular white sugar i used powdered sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon... AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
We love this but leave off the whipped cream and add strawberries to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Very good recipe. I never really cared for this type of cake but I decided to make one for my husband. Now I'm hooked. I'cw made this cake a half a dozen times or so and everyone always loves it. This is a traditional hispanic cake and I'm not hispanic at all but all of my husband's family (he's from El Salvador) and friends want me to make this cake. Very good tres leche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
PERFECTION! I have never made or eaten anything like this before, and I LOVED every bite of it! Made as written and topped w/ toasted coconut and maraschino cherries...a big hit! This is a keeper, for sure~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Just be sure to poke plenty of holes in the cake once it has cooled so that the milk mixture absorbs well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Interesting texture and flavor. Similar to a cream puff in the aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIBOSH2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
**** I made this cake for the first time yesterday. Having read the directions and most of the reviews, I thought I was "on the way." However, I must have let the cake cool too much, so, despite all the holes punched, the cake didn't absorb all the milks. I had to pour some of it off before putting the whipped cream on at serving time. I'm assuming that, had the cake still been hot when the milk layer was added, the milk would have all been absorbed and the cake would have had a softer texture. The flavors are wonderful, and I'd make this cake again, but not until I hear from someone what my error was. Although I rated this one at 4 stars, I think it's probably a 5 star with a bit clearer instruction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I thought that this cake had way to much liquid. My husband and kids thought the same. We also thought it was to sweet. I think the over sweetness came from the whipped cream topping. 1 cup sugar is to much for 1 1/2 cups whipping cream. The whipped cream did not turn out fluffy like I'm used to seeing when I make whipped cream. It thickened but it was heavy. My kids always lick the bowl clean after I make whipped cream in it. But this whipped cream was so sickenly sweet that they didn't want to lick the bowl this time. I thought the cake by itself turned out great. I wouldn't change that part of this recipe. If I make this again I will make the filling the same but just not pour all of it over the cake. It tasted good but the cake was to soggy. For the whipped cream topping I will instead make it with 1 pint whipping cream, 3 tablespoons sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla. I've used this whipped cream recipe before for other cakes and it always turns out good. Just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 872) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States