Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
My friend has made tres leche cake before, and I fell in love with it. I decided to make my own, and my first problem was the amount of liquid. Way too much! I was expecting it to soak or something, so I let it sit a while but nothing happened. The whipped cream couldn't spread because there was so much liquid and it was just slopping around. The whipped cream was way too sweet. I recommend reducing the amount of sugar put into the whipped cream. Then I ate it, and was incredibly disappointed. It tasted nothing like my friend's. and it was fairly dry and hard on the inside! Even with the liquid. Maybe I did something wrong, but overall it was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
My son-in-law absolutely loved this. My husband did not. It was as I thought it would be so I was very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Delicious! NOTE: USE POWDERED SUGAR FOR THE TOPPING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by gerrietp
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This was a great cake. I made this for my mother-inlaws birthday party and everyone loved it. I only gave it a 4 because I used white box cake instead of the recipe because I was making a larger cake and wasn't sure how it would come out. I plan to make this again going through the whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gerrietp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This was my first attempt at making a Tres Leches cake, and I see no need to try any other recipe! Fantastic, delicious, and it got rave reviews! Folks said it was the best they ever had. :) I made it exactly as written, except I forgot to let the cake cool before pouring the milks over. I did that while it was hot. It turned out AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Used 2% milk and still delicious. Rave reviews at our party. Easy, no-fail recipe. Real whippd cream is a must. I sprinkled a little cocoa on top to garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This recipe is FABULOUS!!! I followed the recipe to the 'T' and it was perfect! Although I do not like Tres Leches, but my boyfriend-who's from Mexico-LOVED it!! He's could not get enough of this. He asked me to make it again...and again! The second time, I added walnuts to the cake and will add them to the topping, as well. I did add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each one. Other than that, the recipe was flawless!! THANK YOU for sharing this recipe! It is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I love this recipe.. Very simple and delicious. Only thing I did was cut off the ends about an inch and placed in a glass dish so you can see the milk coat the entire cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I followed the directions exactly, but this cake was way too soggy and milky. I'm very disappointed since I heard such good things about Tres Leches cake. I'm going to try a different recipe with less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 916) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States