Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I made this for the birthday of a friend at work. I found the recipe easy and quick. It got RAVE reviews! I made a few simple changes - I added 1/2 tsp salt; used 1 tsp vanilla in the cake (instead of the 1/2); separated the eggs, whipped the whites and folded them in (based on other reviews); the whole milk I bought was 14 ounces (instead of 16 ounces); and I used 2 cups of whipping cream with 2/3 cup of sugar (plus the vanilla) for the topping. Of the people who tried it, everyone LOVED it, but I got the most pleasure from the reviews of the Latinos. They thought it was better than a local restaurant's version. It is a definite keeper. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I made this cake today. It turned out very well, I followed the recipe exactly. The whipped topping on the top is divine. The cake is a bit eggy for my taste. If I were to make this cake again I would probably try to adjust that. It was a very quick and easy dessert to make, I do recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I too use a boxed cake mix, and I top this with fresh sliced strawberries and then the whipped cream. I always go home with an empty pan. I want to try it with fresh sliced mangos sometime - has anyone ever tried that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is such a great cake!!! This is a traditional spanish cake for birthday's or special occasions in my husbands family. (they're from Honduras) we would always get it from a local bakery and it was pretty expensive. I found this recipe and saw how easy it was and really how cheap it is to make.. I made it for my husband to suprise him and ever since then I'm the one that makes the family cakes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
The cake batter is perfect for tres leches but i double the recipe since it seems to come out flat with only the original measurements. Also I use my own (leches) mix for the "topping/filling" My mom loves the cake and I've made it 5 times already. To add some flavor to the batter i add about 1tbsp of flavored baking emulsion. (usually butter/butter vanilla or almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilia Marquez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Fernando, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I was so super psyched to learn that tres leches cake was so easy to make! It's one of my favorite desserts of all time, and having it in my fridge was amazing. The longer it sits, the better it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcl777
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Great tres leches recipe!! It came out real moist, and was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This cake is AMAZING. My favorite dessert of all time and I have a serious sweet tooth. I think I need to buy the ingredients to make it tomorrow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This cake turned out great! I did however make a change to the whipped cream as many other reviewers did, I halved the amount of sugar. Even then I personally thought that the whipped cream was too sweet, so if anyone is like me and ends up leaving half the frosting on the plate most of the time I would actually try only about 1/4 cup of sugar in the whipped cream. Also I checked the cake at 22 minutes and it was already done (I know every oven cooks differently but thank goodness I checked it early because there isn't much batter and the pan is kind of large).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe that is fairly simple and yields excellent results! My husband and his family (who are from Mexico and often serve tres leches cakes at parties) all agreed it was delicious. I made it as stated the first time and it was great, but the second time I used another reviewer's recipe for the whipped topping (1 pint heavy whipping cream, 3 tbsp sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla), and I preferred the latter. Some reviewers have stated that it was super sweet, but tres leches cake, in general, is very sweet. This cake tastes best when made a day or so in advance and not removed from the refrigerator until just before serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 863) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States