Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I'm a white guy that has never baked anything before (I'm much more useful on the grill), but I decided to make this cake for my Mexican girlfriend's birthday since this is the only kind of cake she likes. I was worried that it wouldn't come out right because I've never baked before, and especially because of some of the reviews saying the ingredient measurements weren't perfect. So imagine my surprise when she said she liked it and it was almost exactly like how she makes her tres leches cakes. Personally I've never eaten this kind of cake so I have nothing to compare it to, but it was interesting. I added self rising flour so the cake wouldn't be so thin, and used a cup and a half of half and half milk instead of two cups of whole milk because I thought it wouldn't absorb that well. But it did, and it left just the slightest amount of milk on the bottom of the pan. It was very moist and not soppy or soaked like other reviewers have said. I poked a ton, and I mean a TON, of holes through the cake and it soaked it up very well. Also, instead of a full cup of sugar for the icing, I used a half cup. It still came out pretty sweet. All in all, a very interesting and tasty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This was the first tres leches cake recipe that I have tried and I bake and sell cakes on the side and the only change I made is instead of using unsalted butter I use salted butter and everyone that has eaten the cake say its the best they have ever had. Another thing I do just for fun sometime is instead of sweetened condensed milk I use la lecheras caramel and I mix it up really good then sift out the chunks of caramel it makes a good twist to the classic and everybody loves the caramel sweet flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Delicious!! I followed the recipe completely when making the cake. The first time I did use cool whip instead of the cream topping and it was good, but the second time when I made it with the whipped cream and it was even better. This cake is easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I am not sure what I did wrong, but the milk didn't soak into the cake at all. Cake is dry and hard. I followed all the instructions to bake the cake for 30 mins at 350 degrees. Any suggestion?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I really love this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I made this for the birthday of a friend at work. I found the recipe easy and quick. It got RAVE reviews! I made a few simple changes - I added 1/2 tsp salt; used 1 tsp vanilla in the cake (instead of the 1/2); separated the eggs, whipped the whites and folded them in (based on other reviews); the whole milk I bought was 14 ounces (instead of 16 ounces); and I used 2 cups of whipping cream with 2/3 cup of sugar (plus the vanilla) for the topping. Of the people who tried it, everyone LOVED it, but I got the most pleasure from the reviews of the Latinos. They thought it was better than a local restaurant's version. It is a definite keeper. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I made this cake today. It turned out very well, I followed the recipe exactly. The whipped topping on the top is divine. The cake is a bit eggy for my taste. If I were to make this cake again I would probably try to adjust that. It was a very quick and easy dessert to make, I do recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I too use a boxed cake mix, and I top this with fresh sliced strawberries and then the whipped cream. I always go home with an empty pan. I want to try it with fresh sliced mangos sometime - has anyone ever tried that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is such a great cake!!! This is a traditional spanish cake for birthday's or special occasions in my husbands family. (they're from Honduras) we would always get it from a local bakery and it was pretty expensive. I found this recipe and saw how easy it was and really how cheap it is to make.. I made it for my husband to suprise him and ever since then I'm the one that makes the family cakes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
The cake batter is perfect for tres leches but i double the recipe since it seems to come out flat with only the original measurements. Also I use my own (leches) mix for the "topping/filling" My mom loves the cake and I've made it 5 times already. To add some flavor to the batter i add about 1tbsp of flavored baking emulsion. (usually butter/butter vanilla or almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilia Marquez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Fernando, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States