Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
The cake batter is perfect for tres leches but i double the recipe since it seems to come out flat with only the original measurements. Also I use my own (leches) mix for the "topping/filling" My mom loves the cake and I've made it 5 times already. To add some flavor to the batter i add about 1tbsp of flavored baking emulsion. (usually butter/butter vanilla or almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yowcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Fernando, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I was so super psyched to learn that tres leches cake was so easy to make! It's one of my favorite desserts of all time, and having it in my fridge was amazing. The longer it sits, the better it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcl777
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Great tres leches recipe!! It came out real moist, and was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This cake is AMAZING. My favorite dessert of all time and I have a serious sweet tooth. I think I need to buy the ingredients to make it tomorrow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This cake turned out great! I did however make a change to the whipped cream as many other reviewers did, I halved the amount of sugar. Even then I personally thought that the whipped cream was too sweet, so if anyone is like me and ends up leaving half the frosting on the plate most of the time I would actually try only about 1/4 cup of sugar in the whipped cream. Also I checked the cake at 22 minutes and it was already done (I know every oven cooks differently but thank goodness I checked it early because there isn't much batter and the pan is kind of large).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe that is fairly simple and yields excellent results! My husband and his family (who are from Mexico and often serve tres leches cakes at parties) all agreed it was delicious. I made it as stated the first time and it was great, but the second time I used another reviewer's recipe for the whipped topping (1 pint heavy whipping cream, 3 tbsp sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla), and I preferred the latter. Some reviewers have stated that it was super sweet, but tres leches cake, in general, is very sweet. This cake tastes best when made a day or so in advance and not removed from the refrigerator until just before serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
excellent, cooking time was perfect, recipe was easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This was so easy and the family loved it! I used a white cake mix and used dark chocolate soy milk in place of whole milk. To help the milk absorb into the cake faster, I used the handle of a wooden spoon and made a few holes in the cake and then poured the milk mixture over the cake and placed in the fridge. By the time I was ready to put the whipped topping on, all of the milk soaked into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Was told by the eater that this was the best tres leches she'd ever had! Pretty proud. Can be tedious to make, but a lot of fun in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States