Tres Leches III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I took another reviewer's suggestion to cut back by one egg, but I still had issues with baking time and milk absorption. I had to leave it in the oven for about an hour! By that point, the top had become a very dark brown and had to be cut off so that the cake would actually absorb the milk mixture. I only used about half the milk mixture before it stopped absorbing, but the cake wasn't as moist as it should be. I think next time, I'll try to solve this surface area limitation issue by halving the recipe entirely, still cooking it in a 9x13 pan, so that it may actually finish cooking at the 25 minute mark and absorb more of the milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I'm giving this recipe four starts rather than three because of the popularity at our office food day. Everyone loved it. My cake came out very dense. It rose nicely, but fell when it cooled. I decreased the eggs to 8. Not sure if I over-folded my whites into the batter. This made it difficult for the milks to absorb. (I used a 15 oz can of evap milk. Have not seen a 5 oz can) BUT, the cake was very delicious. And I did use my KitchenAid with the whisk attachment. :) I'll try again maybe with this recipe, maybe with another...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corydon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Humeston, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. The mixture of the milk is fine but the cake mixture is not good at all, too many eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This is an excellent cake and sorry that it was not a success for a lot of you. Unfortunately, for this type of cake, you require time and patience and cannot be made in a hurry. Instructions need to be followed exactly and the result of all your labors is worth it. As to the controversy between hand mixers and standing ones I have used both and it can be made with a hand mixer successfully - just requires more time and patience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Loved this except I used all purpose flour and it did turn dense at the bottome, but the top was perfect. I'll remember and try cake flour next time. Tasted great though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
My daughter and I made this as a project for her Spanish class. I have only ever had Tres Leches at a restaraunt before and this seemed very yummy to me! It definitely tastes better the next day after the milks have had time to soak in. I was dense and a tiny bit eggy but it seemed to work. I might try a different recipe next time just to experiment but I am saving this one in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I am Mexican and have never found a cake tasting like the one mi abuela used to make back in mexico, This one tastes just like it! Muy Delisioso! Chao!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I added a tablespoon of rum to the milk sauce, it was a nice addition. GREAT cake! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rdrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Did not like this recipe at all. The cake was very dense and I could really taste the egg (lots of them!). Plus, it was time consuming to make. Won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States