Tres Leches III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I have made this many times over the last couple years and never left feedback. This is the best tres leches cake. My hubby if from Michoacan and for our son's baptism we went to my sister inlaws home 7 hours away and ordered one from up there. My husband stood up in the middle of the party and appologized to the guests for the cake that was ordered because as he said " my wife makes it way better" but in spanish. And as for the feedback that if you don't have or us a stand mixer you aren't a real baker BS. I have baked for years and this cake has been don 3 times a year for about two years now and alway turned out great with a hand mixer. This will be the first year i use my stand mixer. Remember not everyone can afford a $400 piece of equipment. That does not make them any less of a baker. Just s less fortunate one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
Did I do something wrong? I followed the directions exactly, but I also produced a dense cake that tasted eggy. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I just served this cake and received high compliments! I have tried 6 different recipes for this cake and the 7th time was a charm. Trust me, I've had many different types of this cake and the reviews vary. I used one less egg and added a tbs of rum to the milk mixture. It also helps to let the cake sit overnight. It had the correct consistency and was not a nasty "wet" cake. Use the freshest ingredients and the cake is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
For all the bad ratings out there on this recipe, I wonder if the people were cooking instead of baking. There is a difference, and those that know it know what I'm talking about. When the recipe calls for the butter to be at room temperature, that's what it needs to be at, or otherwise bad things can happen. Creaming the butter and sugar is an important step, one that can't be done by a half minute of the hand beater, rather it should be done in a stand mixer until it is light and fluffy, like the recipe calls for. The only substitution I made was to use cake flour instead of all purpose, due to the fact that cake flour has less protein and gluten, making it able to be lighter and fluffier than all-purpose, which is better for crusty breads and other yeast risen baked goods. That being said, this was an incredible cake that had all my guests raving. Follow the recipe exactly as it says, use the proper baking utensils, (If you do a lot of baking, you already have a Kitchen Aid stand mixer. If you don't, you don't bake much.) and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This is EASILY the worst Tres Leches recipe I have ever tried. The cake is nowhere near firm enough to support the milk mixture without becoming soggy. You might as well put a store bought yellow cake mix in a bowl of milk. In addition, the timings are not even close to being correct. The cake won't even have set by the time it gets to 30 minutes. On the good site, this recipe is what finally got me to register for this site. I really wish I had read some of these reviews before wasted my money on this. NOTE: If you have tried this recipe, you STILL don't know whether you like Tres Leches because you still have never TRIED Tres Leches. This is DEFINITELY not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
I followed the steps exactly and I still ended up with a very heavy, eggy cake. I got the comment that it tasted like a quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I have had tres leches before and I absolutely love it, but this recipe didn't seem to give the right directions. I thought that i was doing what the recipe said to do, but it ended up comming out very heavy- almolt like a custard. That is not how tres leches is supposed to taste. For all the work it required, it seemed like a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah p

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
***I took this cake to a Cinco de Mayo party. Everybody loved it. I thought it was a little time consuming and difficult to make for a novice baker. However, the tres leches "sauce" was incredible. I had trouble getting the center of my cake to cook. I cooked it so long that the outside edges became hard. Overall I gave it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
It was awsome. Not too sweet, just perfect. everybody loved it. Easy to do. Best to pour the liquid the same day. I did the cake the night before and pour the liquid and put it in the fridge and couldn't turn it the next day. Had to put hot pads over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
This is not a good recipe for this cake. The frosting is fine, this is usually how I make the frosting for tres leches because it is quick but use BIANCAS CAKE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THERRERA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States