Tres Leches III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
Did I do something wrong? I followed the directions exactly, but I also produced a dense cake that tasted eggy. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
My roommates usually do all the cooking. I decided to try this dessert as an "end of the year treat". They LOVED it! I tried a tres leches dessert at a popular Mexican food restaraunt and this recipe ranks right up there with theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I'm sorry to say this, but I will stick to making cream puffs and eclair cakes, this recipe was time consuming all the effort I put into it, and afterwards the cake was hard and heavy like a rock,did not obsorve the milk, I threw away the whole cake, because no one like it. This recipe in a one star for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
This cake came out too dense (too many egg yolks required for this recipe). The cake didn't absorb the liquid as well. The cake tasted fine on its own, but it did not work out as well as other Tres Leches cakes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
Very good ... very rich but good for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
No sour grapes here, because it is always fun to try out a new recipe, but this version of Tres Leches did not work for me. I felt that this cake became too dense, and "cheeselike", after adding the milk mixture. I ended up, cutting the cake into tiny cubes, putting it into goblets, with a little raspberry jam, toasted almonds, and whipped cream, to recycle it into a sort of "tres leches trifle".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
This is the best Tes Leches recipe I have ever come across...excet that of my great grandmohers...which I never got the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
After tasting this cake at a Mexican Restuarant here in Texas, my hispanic friend insisted that I make it for her Easter gathering. Being quite the baker, and having baked many cakes before, the crowd raved over this cake and proclaimed that I had outdone myself and that it was the best cake I'd made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2001
This cake is wonderful, and contrary to what some may think, exactly as it should be! The only real time consuming part of this recipe was beating the egg whites. Other than that, it was very simple and extremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
Marti, I think there are two main problems with your recipe: 1. Too many eggs: 9 eggs will tend to weigh the cake batter so much that you end up with an eggy hard cake 2. There needs to be at least two 14-oz cans of condensed milk otherwise you taste the evaporated milk too much which results in a raw rather than sweet taste I am from Nicaragua (the place where this cake originated) and I can tell this recipe is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States