Tres Leches III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
this recipe is the best around for tres leches! i did tweak it just a bit. i baked it for 50 min. and where is says to add 5 oz. of evaporated milk, i added 15 oz. (one can). make sure you are patient when you make this cake and that you wont be pressed for time! especially when you are adding in the flour/milk. also, don't "over fold" your egg whites into the batter, streaks of white are okay! excellent recipe! i suggest serving with fresh raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skipper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This cake was very dense and in no way light. My son loves Tres Leches cake, but we will keep hunting for a better recipe. This one was not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Just wanted to add another review of this wonderful cake. My daughter baked one the other day, following the recipe exactly, EXCEPT that she baked it for 50 minutes. Once again, the best Tres Leches cake we've had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pine City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I have made this many times over the last couple years and never left feedback. This is the best tres leches cake. My hubby if from Michoacan and for our son's baptism we went to my sister inlaws home 7 hours away and ordered one from up there. My husband stood up in the middle of the party and appologized to the guests for the cake that was ordered because as he said " my wife makes it way better" but in spanish. And as for the feedback that if you don't have or us a stand mixer you aren't a real baker BS. I have baked for years and this cake has been don 3 times a year for about two years now and alway turned out great with a hand mixer. This will be the first year i use my stand mixer. Remember not everyone can afford a $400 piece of equipment. That does not make them any less of a baker. Just s less fortunate one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Too sweet. Very dense. I was looking for a lighter Tres Leches cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
PEOPLE--YOU NEED A KITCHEN AID MIXER TO MAKE THIS CAKE. And use the wisk attachment for EVERYTHING. When i alternate the flour milk mixture, i just keep the mixer pumping and i add them alternately. The whipped topping, i suggest putting the bowl into the freezer for a while and add then i whip the topping WITHOUT sugar. i fold the sugar in with a spatula. This is the ONLY recipe i will ever use and thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This cake is awesome! It's very easy to make and it's delicious. I made it for a function at work. Everyone was sort of wondering about it. Once one slice was served, everyone wanted a piece. In fact, someone said they would have paid for a slice at a restaurant. This will become my go to dessert to take. It's a little messy to travel with the milk, so it would be better to be in a dish that has a lid. I whipped the cream for the top right before we served it so it would be nice and fresh. Delicious and quite a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
My cake was a little dense too. The milk didn't soak in well. It tended to go down the sides and under the cake. I probably did something wrong. I'll try it again as it did taste very good. Maybe use something bigger than a fork for hole poking would help. I substituted a can of dulce de leche by nestle for the plain sweetened condensed milk. It was great with that change. just a little different flavor for us dulce de leche lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Hill Boyster

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
There was nothing light about this cake, and believe me I know how to bake. Disappointed and won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cham, Zug, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I think it's weird that there are so many conflicting reviews on this recipe. I suppose those who don't like it aren't making it correctly... It turned out great for me, although I did have to bake it longer than 30 minutes. It isn't that time consuming either, if you plan the steps right. Also, my boyfriend suggested we put a little holiday spin on it, so we added 2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice to the batter before folding in the egg whites, and substituted egg nog for the evaporated milk in the 3 milk mixture. SO RICH! But so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States