Tres Leches III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
A really good cake. A little bit more dense than I am used to(and I know how to bake), but not too dense to be bad. Excellent taste. I even cut the egg yolks down to 8 and yes you do have to increase the baking time to 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I made this cake for Mother's Day, and took it over to my boyfriend's family's house. I followed the recipe exactly, hoping that the cake would not be dense, as I'd read in other reviews. Well... it was dense. It fell as soon as I took it out of the oven. The frosting and milk combination was delicious and spot on, but if you choose to use this recipe, find a different recipe for the sponge cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
At this time I am only giving this recipe a 3star. I had the same problem with it not baking in the center and it is extrememly dense and eggy. I am going to try it again, and will re-rate at that time. I used cake flour as well instead of all purpose for the same reasons. Trial and error I say. I love Tres Leches so I will keep making it until it comes out right!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I have made this quite a few times, it does take time and patience and yes it is best if done a day early. I have never had a problem with this recipe, I will admit that my Viking mixer does make it a bit easier but have done it with a hand mixer also. Just remember to have everything ready and at room temp. butter and for eggs so they beat fluffy. Don't be in a rush for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Living In: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I must be a glotton for punishment...I have tried to make this 3 times now. First time i had a very eggy cake. Second time I followed directions to a T. Third time, the "outside" edges were perfect, but the middle tasted like an omlet again. So, i will just leave this one to the professionals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I haven't made the cake and so I feel I don't have the right to really rate it, but I wanted to comment on the recipe itself because tres leches cake ... the kind made in it's country of origin, Nicaragua, is never made with a butter cake. It's a type of sponge cake frosted with meringue. So, if you are having trouble with this cake, try it with a sponge cake recipe and see if that doesn't solve the problem of it being too dense. Again, I have not tried this particular recipe, so blow this off if you have and love it. I just thought I'd add that it's usually sponge cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This was fantastic, a desert you need to make for company, otherwise you will eat the whole thing. However the reviews posted here made it work! I used 8 yolks and 8 whites, creamed the softened butter in my Stand mixer, made sure ALL the ingredients were room temperature, and baked for 50 minutes! I also topped with cool whip... it was delicious. I made this twice (first time as a test second, time for company) and it was PERFECT each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
this is the second time I've made this cake. I've done it very carefully, mind you, because the first time it didn't cook in 30 minutes; it was runny and I had a time limit. This time, it's been sitting in the oven for about 50 minutes already and it is nearly done. This must be about equipment because I am positive I have done nothing wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I attempted this recipe for my friend's fiance's birthday...what an embarrasment! The milk didn't seem to absorb into the cake, it was so runny! I guess making it overnight might have been a better move. I followed everything stated in the recipe, but I did increase the baking time. I don't know where I went wrong. It was dripping in my car, dripping on my way up to her apartment, it was a total mess! After reading all these reviews, i'll give it another try. Thank goodness someone bought a Carvel cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States