Tres Leches III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
A really good cake. A little bit more dense than I am used to(and I know how to bake), but not too dense to be bad. Excellent taste. I even cut the egg yolks down to 8 and yes you do have to increase the baking time to 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I made this cake for Mother's Day, and took it over to my boyfriend's family's house. I followed the recipe exactly, hoping that the cake would not be dense, as I'd read in other reviews. Well... it was dense. It fell as soon as I took it out of the oven. The frosting and milk combination was delicious and spot on, but if you choose to use this recipe, find a different recipe for the sponge cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
At this time I am only giving this recipe a 3star. I had the same problem with it not baking in the center and it is extrememly dense and eggy. I am going to try it again, and will re-rate at that time. I used cake flour as well instead of all purpose for the same reasons. Trial and error I say. I love Tres Leches so I will keep making it until it comes out right!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I have made this quite a few times, it does take time and patience and yes it is best if done a day early. I have never had a problem with this recipe, I will admit that my Viking mixer does make it a bit easier but have done it with a hand mixer also. Just remember to have everything ready and at room temp. butter and for eggs so they beat fluffy. Don't be in a rush for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Living In: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I must be a glotton for punishment...I have tried to make this 3 times now. First time i had a very eggy cake. Second time I followed directions to a T. Third time, the "outside" edges were perfect, but the middle tasted like an omlet again. So, i will just leave this one to the professionals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I haven't made the cake and so I feel I don't have the right to really rate it, but I wanted to comment on the recipe itself because tres leches cake ... the kind made in it's country of origin, Nicaragua, is never made with a butter cake. It's a type of sponge cake frosted with meringue. So, if you are having trouble with this cake, try it with a sponge cake recipe and see if that doesn't solve the problem of it being too dense. Again, I have not tried this particular recipe, so blow this off if you have and love it. I just thought I'd add that it's usually sponge cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This was fantastic, a desert you need to make for company, otherwise you will eat the whole thing. However the reviews posted here made it work! I used 8 yolks and 8 whites, creamed the softened butter in my Stand mixer, made sure ALL the ingredients were room temperature, and baked for 50 minutes! I also topped with cool whip... it was delicious. I made this twice (first time as a test second, time for company) and it was PERFECT each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
this is the second time I've made this cake. I've done it very carefully, mind you, because the first time it didn't cook in 30 minutes; it was runny and I had a time limit. This time, it's been sitting in the oven for about 50 minutes already and it is nearly done. This must be about equipment because I am positive I have done nothing wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I attempted this recipe for my friend's fiance's birthday...what an embarrasment! The milk didn't seem to absorb into the cake, it was so runny! I guess making it overnight might have been a better move. I followed everything stated in the recipe, but I did increase the baking time. I don't know where I went wrong. It was dripping in my car, dripping on my way up to her apartment, it was a total mess! After reading all these reviews, i'll give it another try. Thank goodness someone bought a Carvel cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States