Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is a basic sponge cake recipe soaked in a milk mixture. A succesful sponge cake requires proper treatment of the egg, at every step. The egg whites form the body or lightness of the cake. It is extremely important to properly fold the whites into the batter. Too much folding and you have a flat cake. Too little folding and you will have "chewy" pieces from unincorporated egg white. The 1/4 c. granulated sugar should be added to the egg whites before whipping, as sugar helps build peaks, prevents overbeating, and dissolves in liquid egg. I don't know why some reviewers thought white sugar meant powdered sugar, but sponge cakes are made with granulated sugar. I substituted cake flour (1 c. + 2 T.), added a pinch of salt, and the cake was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
357 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca V2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Maybe I am the only cook that does not know this, but this recipe should call for CONFECTIONOR'S SUGAR, not to be confused with granular sugar which is obviously white too--I am new to the cooking scene, but this info would have been nice to know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
I took this cake to a Cinco De Mayo party. I looked at all the tres leches cake recipes on this website, and I decided to try this one. I was not dissapointed. Everyone raved about it. I did substiture Fresh strawberries with the cherries, so it was like a super moist strawberry shortcake. Even my kids loved the "strawberry cake" My 2 yr old son actually ate his own piece, and then tried to steal mine. I definatly recommend this cake. There is no excess run off of liquid like the others cakes listed on this web site. Try it, you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Soooooo good! Don't make the mistake of trying it before you chill it for at least a few hours. Room temperature milk is nasty and you will think this cake is too if you do so (i tried a piece right after frosting it, that's how i know). I've done this cake twice and i decided to add some sugar and vanilla to the whipping cream the second time to give it more flavor. The second time i also didn't pierce the cake with a fork , i left it in the pan and poured the mixture on it and it soaked it up without any problems and more evenly. The cake came out fluffy and moist and i didn't want to stop eating it. I also liked it better when i separated it into two 8in pans and frosted it in between the two layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
Awesome! 25 year old dude here...not really in to cooking but trying to learn...if i try something and like it, i'll go to this site and look it up and try to make it for my self. A chick bought this cake in to work and I thought it was really good so I after reading the reviews of the others I decided to try this one. Again, I dont know how to cook but I made this and it rocks! I may have beat my eggs to long because I only had to cook it for 30 minutes, but again, it's awesome. This one is my new recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This is great. However, I've always added the milk mixture (with 1 tsp vanilla added) as soon as the cake comes out of the oven. If your cake forms a "hump" just slice it off to level it, then pour the milk mixture all over. The milk mixture distributes itself well when the cake is still hot. Let cool to room temp, then refrigerate still in the pan and covered with foil. I let it sit overnight. Once cold, just flip it onto a serving plate and garnish with whipped cream and fresh fruit. Deeelish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Gonzalez Moreno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington Park, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This is an excellent cake and a crowd pleaser (but some people didn't like how it's kind of soggy). I suggest using yellow box cake mix - it tastes the same and its faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Although this cake takes a relatively long time to prepare, it tastes great. However, I put my cake in for exactly 45 minutes and the bottom burnt quite badly. Fortunately, that was easy to slice off because of how moist the cake is. Still, I would suggest 30-40 minutes as a better guideline. I also found I had way too much milk mix left over, but what can you do except make more cake next time... I added Godiva chocolate liqueur to the syrup and it tasted delicious with the cherries. Next time I might try Amaretto or Bailey's. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I had no problems with this recipe as others did with the cake collapsing. I thought it was perfect. Before icing the cake, I cut it in half and placed sliced strawberries between the layers, then soaked it in the milk mixture. A bakery where I live adds the fruit in the middle and I think it is just delicious. I will use this recipe again, thanks for another great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Great cake, much better than store bought. I made this recipe for my husband's birthday, who was born and raised in Mexico, and he loves it! I made a double layer cake with fresh strawberries and whipcream frosting in the middle and on top. I didn't have problems with the "chewy lumps" you just have to make sure everything is well mixed. I added confectioners sugar to the whipcream frosting, but granulated is fine in the cake. The flour can form lumps when it's mixed with the yolks, I just mixed it well with a whisk. Very tasty, not too milky and perfect birthday treat! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIXIERA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States