Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2000
This was very unique and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
Very good cake. Not too soggy and not too dry. My family loves it when I make it into a 2 layer round cake and add strawberries with bananas or kiwi fruit. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grantsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I made it into a two layer cake with peaches.Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
Monica, thank you SO much. For years, my friend selfishly hoarded the recipe to this fabulous cake. I've tried nearly every recipe out there (including one on allrecipes), but THIS IS "THE ONE!" To add my own personal touch, I spiked it with Kahlua and garnished it with strawberries. Yummy! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
Awesome! 25 year old dude here...not really in to cooking but trying to learn...if i try something and like it, i'll go to this site and look it up and try to make it for my self. A chick bought this cake in to work and I thought it was really good so I after reading the reviews of the others I decided to try this one. Again, I dont know how to cook but I made this and it rocks! I may have beat my eggs to long because I only had to cook it for 30 minutes, but again, it's awesome. This one is my new recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
Came out nice and moist, however since I am lazy I'll just buy it at a bakery, but I must correct this is not a Mexican cake, Tres Leches is Nicaraguan =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
I took this cake to a Cinco De Mayo party. I looked at all the tres leches cake recipes on this website, and I decided to try this one. I was not dissapointed. Everyone raved about it. I did substiture Fresh strawberries with the cherries, so it was like a super moist strawberry shortcake. Even my kids loved the "strawberry cake" My 2 yr old son actually ate his own piece, and then tried to steal mine. I definatly recommend this cake. There is no excess run off of liquid like the others cakes listed on this web site. Try it, you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Monica I want to thank you for sharing this recipe.Let me tell you that this cake is the best "Tres leches" cake I ever ate!!! Thank you very much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I made this cake for a Thanksgiving dessert and eveyone (especially my boyfriend) loved it. It had the perfect amount of moisture. We thought that next time we make it, we'll add Amaretto to the milk mixture before we add it to the cake. MMM good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Although this cake takes a relatively long time to prepare, it tastes great. However, I put my cake in for exactly 45 minutes and the bottom burnt quite badly. Fortunately, that was easy to slice off because of how moist the cake is. Still, I would suggest 30-40 minutes as a better guideline. I also found I had way too much milk mix left over, but what can you do except make more cake next time... I added Godiva chocolate liqueur to the syrup and it tasted delicious with the cherries. Next time I might try Amaretto or Bailey's. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States