Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This case taste wonderful! The reason i gave it 4 rather then 5 stars was because the cake fell so much. Even with the fallen cake it was great and i will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Yum! I've made this a few times for people who know and love authentic tres leches and it always gets rave reviews. I do skip the cherries though. Also, save and refridgerate the leftover milk mixture. Mix in an egg & a splash of vanilla the next morning and it makes an AWESOME soak for french toast! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiGuest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This tasted good but wasn't anything that special. It turned out well though and here's what I did: to make it two layers with strawberries in the middle I followed all the directions as written but put it in two 9" cake plans that were greased/floured. I cooked them for 13 minutes and they were already done, cooled in the pans for about 10 minutes, then inverted onto wire racks. I used someone's suggestion of "shaving" the cake so it would absorb more of the leches and that worked out great, especially since half the bottom stuck to the pan when I inverted it! A steak knife scraped the rest off nicely without taking any cake with it. Then, while still on the rack with wax paper underneath, I poured the leches on top of just one layer of the cake until it couldn't hold any more (there was about 1 C left...I'd mixed them in a large liquid measuring cup). Then I layered the dry cake, strawberries, whipped cream, wet cake. The top was a "good kind of soggy" as others have mentioned but the bottom tasted like sponge cake. It made the whole thing taste like a giant, partially wet strawberry shortcake. It tasted fine (the wet portion was better than the dry), but you can essentially get the same result from normal spongecake with berries and whip, so didn't really seem worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This cake is awesome..for those who dont know it's suppose to be a wet moist cake...this cake recipe is just as good as the tres leches they serve in the Cabana restaurants in NYC...I did a little research before I actually made this cake...my advice is you should shave the top of the cake once it comes out of the oven...this really helps for all the milk to soak in, I have had friends make this cake and some parts of the cake comes out dry...poke the holes and pour your milk over the cake while it is still hot...this really soaks in wonderfully, I have made this twice...I have people on line and requests for the next time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Awesome cake. Fairly complex to make considering the number of steps involved, as well as the number of utensils required (it's somewhat messy). The result, however, was REALLY good and most definitely worth the work. The cake was such a hit it didn't last very long at all in the fridge; we ate it so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherny2004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Everyone I shared this with raved that it is an amazing dessert. I will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Grimshaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I have made this several times as well as a few other recipes on the site. Hands-down, this is always the best. I actually beat my egg whites first, save and fold in when whent the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
everyone loved this cake was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Beaufort, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This was my first attempt at baking a cake from scratch and I loved it. I think that I may have undercooked it for fear of burning the bottom because it collapsed when out of the oven. Otherwise, it was delicious! I can't wait to try it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I have made this several times with great results. I do not care for the taste of evaporated and condensed milks so I like to play with other flavors to mask the milk taste. I have used rum, coconut, white chocolate, chocolate and a favorite with my customers and friends is a tiramisu/coffee tres leches. I also sweeten the whipping cream and garnish according to the flavor i use. Another delicious idea is to slice the cake into 2 layers and add a fruit filling. All ideas are better served the second day! This is a great recipe to play around with...have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States