Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I made this for a family party this weekend. We are from El Paso and used to really good pastel de tres leches. Of all the recipes I've tried so far, this one comes closest to the cake I love. I made the recipe exactly as specified, except I omitted the cherries, and sifted cinnamon on top of the whipped cream before piping a border of whipped cream on top of the frosted cake. In all, this cake was a huge hit with my family, and I will definitely be using this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was my first time making and eating a tres leches cake. I was skeptical because the thought of a soggy cake grossed me out! This was a very nice surprise though! I did cut back about 1/2 cup on the milk mixture and it was perfect! Not dry at all but not a soppy mess. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennicampis
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is my first time ever baking from scratch. This was a great recipe and I managed to get it right! This cake has great quality, it tastes just like from the mexican bakery! (only you are saving A LOT of money!) Just remember, let it soak in the fridge for a couple hours, all the milk tastes better cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was an amazing cake!!! It was also very easy to make. I love baking, and my best friend suggested that I try Tres Leches cake. I will admit, I was skeptical, but tried it anyway. I am so glad I did!! My entire family loved it. I will definitely be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSailorsGirl03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Beth H
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I made this cake yesterday and my family loved it. As another reviewer mentioned, it sank in the middle. I am not an experienced baker and have no idea why this happened. Maybe its a characteristic of this kind of cake? I added 1/2 cup of sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla to the whipping cream when I made the frosting, which was delicious. I also arranged kiwi, strawberries and blueberries on the finished cake. It was a beautiful cake and I'm happy that I made it. When I find out how to fix the sinking thing, I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I have made this cake 3 times and each time it deflated in the middle...don't know why. Any answer? I also did not use all of the liquid and have enough for another cake. I also added a little sugar to the whipped cream frosting. The whipped cream did cover the middle inperfection. It is a very good cake and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Honestly, I give this one a boo. Maybe it was just me; but there was way too much liquid in the pan, even after I drained it. I think I'll look for a new recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is the go to cake when strawberry season rolls in. Now over time I've dabbled with changing things up. Use 1/4c. of fresh lime (or other citrus) juice plus 2T water for the liquid in the cake (nice little tang to it). Infuse the white sugar (granulated) with the zest of the citrus you pick. I've added rum to the milk sauce with great success. And we always use fresh fruit rather than canned. I use all the milk and we always pour the milk on while the cake is warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This cake was DELICIOUS!!!! My family and I ate the entire thing the night I made it. The only thing I didn't understand was the part about setting aside 1 cup of the milk mixture to whip for a topping. I was unable to whip it to a thick "frosting". Next time I will set aside only the whipping cream not the mixture of 3 milks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I had been using a different recipe before but decided to give this one a try. So glad I did! While I don't particularly like this cake, its my husband's favorite, so i made it for his birthday. I only had 7.5 inch round pans, so it only took about 20 mins in the oven. Also i used 1 cup of 2% milk instead of the 1/4 cup of heavy cream for the milk mixture and used all of it, since he likes it super wet. I took some of the whipped cream for the frosting and added about half a package of instant vanilla pudding mix and about 3/4 cup of homemade strawberry preserves and used that as filling. My husband said the cake was better than the ones from the pasteleria, and for a fraction of the cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States