Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I took the advice of another reviewer and used a white cake mix for the cake. Also, I used one cup of whole milk, and one cup of coconut milk ... came out absolutely fantastic and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Really liked this recipe. Will be making it again. Also, it is easy to just do the cake part when you don't have all the canned milk on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I thought this was excellent! Next time I will use more of the milk sauce. It tasted best where it was soaked through. It also tasted better the next day. I added a touch of pwdr. sugar and vanilla to the Whipped Cream. I will make this often now. I think I will caramelize some of the condensed milk next time and see if it is good. I am thinking with a caramel flavor it will be PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
The Cake was easy to make only took 25 min in the oven with 2- 9in round pans. Let it sit in the fridge with the milk for 2 hours before icing it. Everyone enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This cake was great! Made 2 of them for Cinqo de Mayo party. Forgot the baking powder in the first cake. No biggie. They both went over pretty well. I also used strawberries instead of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
No problems with the cake falling here. It came out nice and tall. I barely sweetened to whipped cream because I was worried it would be too sweet otherwise (I used 1 tablespoon sugar to 1-1/2 cups cream). I'm glad I didn't use more. The cake was really sweet. A bit too sweet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I wish this recipe described how to fold in the egg whites a little better. My cake sank, just as a lot of people said. I thought maybe this was normal because my son says it is supposed to be dense. Well, I looked up how to fold in egg whites after the fact. Put about a third of the whipped egg white into the batter, and gently mix it in to 'temper' the batter, which will make it easier to mix in the rest of the egg white. Hold the bowl over the mixing bowl containing your batter, and tilt it so that the egg whites slide out into the batter. Using a large spatula, cut a path down the middle of the mixture with the edge of the spatula. Then gently turn half the mixture over onto the other half. Continue cutting down the middle and turning a portion over. Don't stir. The purpose of folding is to retain the air you have beaten into the whites. Be careful to only work the batter enough to incorporate the whites, and never use an electric mixer for this step. Mixing the egg whites into the batter too much will cause your cake to sink. My cake still tasted good, even though it sank. My son requested it for his birthday, and my husband thought it sounded gross. But once he tried it, he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie
Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I lost the recipe I had, but it looks much like this one! This is amazing cake. Made it for my son twice for birthdays. Will make him another when he comes home...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This recipe was AMAZING. The recipe does call for white sugar,and I took that to mean regular granulated sugar not confectioners sugar and it came out really good. Also it said to cook for 45 to 50 minutes but in my oven it only took 25. Overall it was SUPER YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Mmmmm this cake was so yummy!! I used granulated sugar and it worked fine (rather than confectioner's). However, when you whip the cream, you need to add some vanilla and a few teaspoons of confectioner's sugar to make it sweet. I followed this recipe, but checked the reviews, and added the milk mixture to the cake when it came out of the oven. Everyone was so impressed! I made this for Valentine's Day (we had tacos for dinner) and topped with chopped strawberries. Delicious! Thanks again for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCooper1182

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States