Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
All that talk about tres leches cake on the buzz , it got me motivated to finally make it after being so intimidated for a long time. I haven't had tres leches cake for almost 10 years. I chose this recipe from judging on the milk listed and technique. Anywho, this cake was fabulous!!! I made as written but wanted a touch of cinnamon to my milk mixture. I didn't taste any cinnamon because i added too little so next time I will double dash it and see if I like it best with it. Stay tuned....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Made this cake for a party at work and everyone LOVED IT! Needless to say, there wasn't anythig left over! Will be making this again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I attempted to make this after having a friend's Tres leches cake. His cake was an old authentic recipe. I was disappointed by this recipe. The instructions were simple enough to follow, the cake texture was good, but it was definitely missing something. I recall the cake he made as being melt-in-your-mouth delicious and there was quite a bit of liquid. This was more spongy and as the instructions called for - I discarded off some of the milk mixture - I immediately regretted it. The cake was more dry than i'm used to. I also believe that the cake is supposed to be served chilled, but i cannot recall if it's the milk mixture or the cake itself...... I added vanilla and strawberries to the whipped cream topping and some sugar for a little more sweetness. I was glad i did that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Excellent cake, done it many times. I cut the cake in half and put canned peaches, strawberries and blackberries after the liquid. Comes out very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Super easy, just a little time consuming. This is not too sweet, and is really moist. My husband usually hates cakes in general, but said he really liked this one, and in fact ate several slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I have never made tres leches before but mine came out beautifully! It didn't sink and I think I can contribute that to folding in the egg white mixture just right. Don't overmix as other reviewers said, better to undermix then overmix. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Awesome cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Littleseed
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I was leary about adding all the milk so I only added half - my next attempt will add what the recipe calls for and I used a chop stick to poke the holes. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
My 10 year old daughter made this by herself in a 9 x 12 glass dish. It turned out amazing! We added sweet-n-low to the whip cream to make it sweet. Other than that, she didn't change anything. Fruit is NOT necessary and may dominate the flavor if used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This could have been something I did but my cake "deflated"/collapsed some and did not keep its height when taken out of the oven. BUT no one noticed after I put the whipped topping on! I used a 13x9 inch pan and forked it while it was still warm, turned out amzing! I refrigerated the cake overnight and then added the topping an hour or so before serving. People went back for seconds ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States