Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I have now made this recipe a few times, mostly for friends' birthdays. Each time, I have been surprised by how AMAZING it turns out! The last time, I laced the milk mixture with dark rum (this is only for adult crowds, of course) and it was a huge hit! My favorite part about this cake is that it's virtually impossible to screw up. If you overcook the cake, no worries, the milk automatically adds the moisture for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This is an excellent cake and a crowd pleaser (but some people didn't like how it's kind of soggy). I suggest using yellow box cake mix - it tastes the same and its faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I loved this cake!! It was SO delicious - I substituted the strawberries for the cherries as well. I used a deep dish pie plate and that worked really great at keeping the liquid contained. I'm not sure if I did something wrong, because it looked beautiful coming out of the oven, but then shriveled and was really FLAT by the time I poked holes in it to pour the milk over it. Either way - it tasted divine - I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
WOW! I'm a young cook, and this is one of my first successful cooking expeditions. It looks hard to make, but suprisingly it turned out well for me and was a big hit. Good recipe and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Something was really wrong with this cake. I accidentally put the 3/4 of sugar into the whites instead of the yokes so i only put about 1/4 into the whites b/c i didnt like the idea of using anymore sugar.... big mistake the cake turned out flat and corn cake like.. definately was not the texture i was looking for... i probably wont try this again because of all those mixed reviews ... Although like i said it could have been the fact i made the cake in reverse order:) i orginally wrote this review and rated it 2 stars but the cake seemed to have improved after it settled overnight in the milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Made it for a coworkers birthday I wanted a change and it definately did give me that. It was hit and miss. The girl I made it for promptly req. my cheesecake next time. Another wanted the recipe and still raves about it! It was sweet and messy. Hard to make presentable. Maybe a home cake for family...would not take for others to present as a birthday cake. Serve with strong coffee to cut the sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Had never had tres leches before, but needed something for a fiesta party. It was OK, I wasnt too fond of it and neither was anyone else. Very basic and easy to make, which was appealing! I used 2- 8" round cake pans. I kept them separate though, so I would have more cake to serve! It was too wet of a cake for all of our tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
excellent!!! tried it out on all my true mexican friends and they loved it as well...used fresh whipping cream for topping .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
FANTASTIC! I am no baker by any means, but this cake came out so well! I absolutely loved it, and the instructions were easy to follow! I actually ended up using the entire milk mixture rather than "discarding" or reserving 1 cup of it. And strawberries added a perfect visual and flavor accent! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States