Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
After following directions specifically, I found this cake was not sweet enough. The cake, milk and whipped frosting all needed additional sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I was very disappointed in this cake after all the glowing reviews. I'd give it a 5 for presentation, but only a 2 for taste. As others have experienced, the cake took only 35 minutes to bake. It looked beautiful coming out of the oven, then the top fell. I hated wasting a cup of the milk mixture. (Try it in coffee or tea!) The cake was not "moist" but "soggy", and once cut a puddle of milk formed on the bottom of the plate. I also thought there was too much whipped cream for the icing. The taste just didn't really appeal to me. But garnished with strawberries it really was beautiful! (See my picture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I would say a 3.5. This cake was gorgeous when it came out of the oven, however, a couple minutes later, it caved!! It shrunk and looked similar to a crater.. luckily I hid the shape with A LOT of whipped cream. The cake didn't absorb the milk mixture very well. Overall, the cake was pretty good, not very sweet (the way I like it). I topped it off the cherries b/c my friend's allergic to strawberries (which I would have preferred). Thanks for the recipe, I wonder if I did something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I made this last night, very good very moist but not runny moist. I always wanted this recipe. also I replaced cherries with walnuts and shaves of chacolate. I thought it goes better with milk the results were great also next time i will add coco since my husband likes chacolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. The cake is so rich, I did not frost it. I whipped up the cream and served it on the side. I followed original directions, the only chnage was I added a pinch of cinnamin to the batter. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This is the best cake I have ever made! And it may be the best cake I've ever tasted. I'd give this 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is a good recipe if you're in the mood for a shortcake flavor. I topped mine with strawberries before I put the whip cream on-very good. Watch your cook time closely, this only took 25 minutes to bake as I have a gas range.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I have now made this recipe a few times, mostly for friends' birthdays. Each time, I have been surprised by how AMAZING it turns out! The last time, I laced the milk mixture with dark rum (this is only for adult crowds, of course) and it was a huge hit! My favorite part about this cake is that it's virtually impossible to screw up. If you overcook the cake, no worries, the milk automatically adds the moisture for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This is an excellent cake and a crowd pleaser (but some people didn't like how it's kind of soggy). I suggest using yellow box cake mix - it tastes the same and its faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I loved this cake!! It was SO delicious - I substituted the strawberries for the cherries as well. I used a deep dish pie plate and that worked really great at keeping the liquid contained. I'm not sure if I did something wrong, because it looked beautiful coming out of the oven, but then shriveled and was really FLAT by the time I poked holes in it to pour the milk over it. Either way - it tasted divine - I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States