Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Wonderful! My daughter graduated from college yesterday, and she requested a Mexican menu for the family celebration party. This was one of the recipes of her choosing. It was very moist and yummy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is a basic sponge cake recipe soaked in a milk mixture. A succesful sponge cake requires proper treatment of the egg, at every step. The egg whites form the body or lightness of the cake. It is extremely important to properly fold the whites into the batter. Too much folding and you have a flat cake. Too little folding and you will have "chewy" pieces from unincorporated egg white. The 1/4 c. granulated sugar should be added to the egg whites before whipping, as sugar helps build peaks, prevents overbeating, and dissolves in liquid egg. I don't know why some reviewers thought white sugar meant powdered sugar, but sponge cakes are made with granulated sugar. I substituted cake flour (1 c. + 2 T.), added a pinch of salt, and the cake was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca V2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I had no problems with this recipe as others did with the cake collapsing. I thought it was perfect. Before icing the cake, I cut it in half and placed sliced strawberries between the layers, then soaked it in the milk mixture. A bakery where I live adds the fruit in the middle and I think it is just delicious. I will use this recipe again, thanks for another great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daltry
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
My boyfriend absolutely LOVES this cake! He always asks me to make this for him for any occasion. As for me, I like the cake, but wouldn't say love. Something about the texture is not quite right, but as for flavor, it's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daltry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This recipe worked great for me. My husband does not like cake but this is his favorite. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This cake came out just like the ones from the bakery. I am so excited about it still! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
From a white girl's point of view this cake is great! However, my mexican friend said that the cake was too dense; I think I didn't beat the egg whites long enough :-( other than my mess up, this was a simple and straight forward recipe--next time I will spend more time on the eggs whites and use a bundt cake pan so the batter will rise a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I just finished eating this Tres Leches cake after a very sweet co-worker of mine made it for my birthday. I think the cake was perfect. I have tried other cakes that were similar but never got the real effect of TRES LECHES!! I mean it's like no other ordinary cake. It's got a whole lot of milk products in it and it came out in every bite. MOIST MOIST MOIST CAKE! YUM!!! :) THANKS CARLA and ALLRECIPES.COM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
No it does not need confectioners sugar...I made the recipe as written and everyone loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This recipes is fantastic! I make the cake a day ahead and use all of the milk mixture.....after sitting in the fridge overnight the milk mixture "gels" and is so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States