Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This a very good recipe. Through my 15 year experience with pastries I only changed one thing. Egg whites and sugar make meringue. The secret to a great meringue is one and only and people don't know it, so here you have it. Place the egg whites in a pot with the sugar at the same time. Heat it up while whiping it with a whip. Do that for just 2 minutes un until sugar melts. Be careful not to cook the mixture. The reason why your cakes fell is because sugar was not dissolved and made the cake extra heavy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Delicious. Followed Rebecca V2 advice snd used cake flour. Added sugar to egg whites, at first I thought I had ruined the whites because it was soupy. But I continued beating about 9 minutes with a hand beater and they came out looking like whipped cream, which made folding into cake mixture very easy. It didn't have all those air bubbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This recipe is perfect. It is very similar to Emeril's recipe and it is failproof. Followed to a T. Great results. Don't bother with the others on this website..The "Tres Leches(milk cake) is not accurate and the amounts of liquid are off. I've been making this cake professionally for 3 years. Use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
The cake was good as far as flavor goes. I'm not too convinced on the textured. I don't know if I beat the eggs too much or what I did wrong, but the texture of the egg just didn't seem quite right. I've ate many tres leches cakes and this didn't seem to have that authentic taste, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I made this cake for my sister's birthday, and it was a success. Coming from a Mexican family, our dishes are very traditional, and this cake has become a favorite of my family. Being a baker myself, the instructions in this recipe were very helpful. You just need to sift the flour before mixing it into the egg yolk, and measure it correctly. don't use powder sugar because you will be making merengue; instead, of a sponge cake. don't overfill the pans; rather, fill them half way or 3/4 of it that way the mixture would not overflow while baking the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I thought it was great. I didn't have a springform pan so I baked it in a 9x12 glass dish. Worked out really well. I'm going to substitue coconut milk for the evaporated milk and add toasted coconut on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Very involved recipe(I really prefer simple ones) but the results are rich & excellent. Not the thing to eat if you're trying to lose weight, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
What is with this cake? I made it twice with bad results. I followed the directions exactly, and it came out of the oven looking like a quesadilla, one inch thick! Nothing like the picture. I didn't even frost it. I will not try this one again. What a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I did this cake today; I follow all the instructions and it came beautiful and delicious...thank you!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
WOW! This was sooo delicious! I was a bit wary about the idea of a soggy cake, but it was anything BUT soggy! I used this recipe for my daughter's 7th b-day party (she requested a mecican fiesta), so I figured this would be a nice alternative to a regular cake, and it did not dissappoint. Everyone at her party had seconds, which didn't leave us any left-overs. The only thing I changed was fresh strawberries instead of maraschino cherries since they were in season! Thank you so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States