Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Kinda tough, maybe ill try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
i think this cake looks good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by isabel navarrete
Living In: Eminence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was an amazing cake! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Very good! Everyone in my family loved it! I followed the recipe just like it said - I did keep the leftover milk mixture in the fridge for another cake! :D Super easy and super yummy! Everyone needs to make this cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I didn't feel like taking time for the cake part today, so I just used a yellow box cake. I punched holes in the top and then followed instructions. AMAZING! It looked like a lake of sauce and then, the cake soaked it up (after a few minutes) and it left you with a super-moist layer, a cake-like layer and then the delicious whipped cream finish. I did add some vanilla and confec. sugar to the whipped cream. I topped it with toasted coconut. KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is just like the ones I have bought in the mexican store! I made it for my husbands birthday and it was great! I doubled the recipe and made to so i could put stawberries in the middle and stack them. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This case taste wonderful! The reason i gave it 4 rather then 5 stars was because the cake fell so much. Even with the fallen cake it was great and i will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Yum! I've made this a few times for people who know and love authentic tres leches and it always gets rave reviews. I do skip the cherries though. Also, save and refridgerate the leftover milk mixture. Mix in an egg & a splash of vanilla the next morning and it makes an AWESOME soak for french toast! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiGuest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This tasted good but wasn't anything that special. It turned out well though and here's what I did: to make it two layers with strawberries in the middle I followed all the directions as written but put it in two 9" cake plans that were greased/floured. I cooked them for 13 minutes and they were already done, cooled in the pans for about 10 minutes, then inverted onto wire racks. I used someone's suggestion of "shaving" the cake so it would absorb more of the leches and that worked out great, especially since half the bottom stuck to the pan when I inverted it! A steak knife scraped the rest off nicely without taking any cake with it. Then, while still on the rack with wax paper underneath, I poured the leches on top of just one layer of the cake until it couldn't hold any more (there was about 1 C left...I'd mixed them in a large liquid measuring cup). Then I layered the dry cake, strawberries, whipped cream, wet cake. The top was a "good kind of soggy" as others have mentioned but the bottom tasted like sponge cake. It made the whole thing taste like a giant, partially wet strawberry shortcake. It tasted fine (the wet portion was better than the dry), but you can essentially get the same result from normal spongecake with berries and whip, so didn't really seem worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This cake is awesome..for those who dont know it's suppose to be a wet moist cake...this cake recipe is just as good as the tres leches they serve in the Cabana restaurants in NYC...I did a little research before I actually made this cake...my advice is you should shave the top of the cake once it comes out of the oven...this really helps for all the milk to soak in, I have had friends make this cake and some parts of the cake comes out dry...poke the holes and pour your milk over the cake while it is still hot...this really soaks in wonderfully, I have made this twice...I have people on line and requests for the next time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States