Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Great cake. I only put about half of the condensed and evaporated milk, and was spongy enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This turned out very well. I too, added a little sugar when whipping the cream. I served the whip cream and sliced strawberries splashed with a little triple sec on the side. I served this to a dinner for 5, everyone had a piece and everyone took a piece home LOL. My girlfriend told me I could freeze the leftover milk mixture for next time, so I'll keep you posted as to how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
My husband spent two years in Mexico, and had told me about this cake. I decided to make it for him for Cinco de Mayo as a surprise, but I was nervous because he had told me that even some latinos can't make it well, and most of the time it turns out too soggy. He was so surprised, and he LOVED it! I made the cake following the recipe to the T and I was very happy with the result. I didn't poke holes in the cooled cake, but left it in the cake pan and poured the sauce over it. I think it is imperitive to reserve the one cup of liquid in order to save yourself from a soggy cake. There were three things I did differently: add a pinch of salt to the cake before baking; bake for only 40 minutes; and add a little bit of sugar to the cream before I whipped it. Perfect! UPDATE: I made this again at my husband's request. I tried to save myself some time by refrigerating the evaporated milk and the sweetened condensed milk, but I found that the sauce didn't soak into the cooled cake as quickly as it did when I left the two cans room temperature. It ended up that I didn't even save myself any time because it took the same amount of time for the sauce to soak into the cake as it did to cool the cake in the first place. Next time I'll just leave them room temp and refrigerate overnight like I did the first time. Why mess with perfection?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This is great. However, I've always added the milk mixture (with 1 tsp vanilla added) as soon as the cake comes out of the oven. If your cake forms a "hump" just slice it off to level it, then pour the milk mixture all over. The milk mixture distributes itself well when the cake is still hot. Let cool to room temp, then refrigerate still in the pan and covered with foil. I let it sit overnight. Once cold, just flip it onto a serving plate and garnish with whipped cream and fresh fruit. Deeelish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Gonzalez Moreno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington Park, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Kinda tough, maybe ill try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
i think this cake looks good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by isabel navarrete
Living In: Eminence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was an amazing cake! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Very good! Everyone in my family loved it! I followed the recipe just like it said - I did keep the leftover milk mixture in the fridge for another cake! :D Super easy and super yummy! Everyone needs to make this cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I didn't feel like taking time for the cake part today, so I just used a yellow box cake. I punched holes in the top and then followed instructions. AMAZING! It looked like a lake of sauce and then, the cake soaked it up (after a few minutes) and it left you with a super-moist layer, a cake-like layer and then the delicious whipped cream finish. I did add some vanilla and confec. sugar to the whipped cream. I topped it with toasted coconut. KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is just like the ones I have bought in the mexican store! I made it for my husbands birthday and it was great! I doubled the recipe and made to so i could put stawberries in the middle and stack them. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States