Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This cake was DELICIOUS!!!! My family and I ate the entire thing the night I made it. The only thing I didn't understand was the part about setting aside 1 cup of the milk mixture to whip for a topping. I was unable to whip it to a thick "frosting". Next time I will set aside only the whipping cream not the mixture of 3 milks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I had been using a different recipe before but decided to give this one a try. So glad I did! While I don't particularly like this cake, its my husband's favorite, so i made it for his birthday. I only had 7.5 inch round pans, so it only took about 20 mins in the oven. Also i used 1 cup of 2% milk instead of the 1/4 cup of heavy cream for the milk mixture and used all of it, since he likes it super wet. I took some of the whipped cream for the frosting and added about half a package of instant vanilla pudding mix and about 3/4 cup of homemade strawberry preserves and used that as filling. My husband said the cake was better than the ones from the pasteleria, and for a fraction of the cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Excellent!! I followed the recipe very carefully (I also made few adjustments for the high altitud baking) and what a success!! I am from Mexico so I know about tres leches cake!! Even when I am used to more dense cakes this is very good as well!! (Baking is not my strenght) Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is such a great recipe, I had a lot of fun making this, the creativity is endless. For the first time making it, it turned out alright, I look forward to experimenting with this, I added sugar to the whipped cream to give it a little more spirit, combined with strawberries, makes for a delicious dessert that all can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Mac Killigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This is a great cake. I modified it a bit--used all of the milk mixture and let it sit overnight in the refrigerator. Made th whip cream layer the next day (added some vanilla and a little powdered sugar) and skipped the cherries. A Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was a great reciope. I added some vanilla and sugar to the frosting like others did. Next time I'll use some more of the milk mixture. I like my tres leches a little more wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Although I do not like Tres Leches cakes all of my co-workers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv 2 Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
My husband is from Mexico and has been craving this cake, but I had never made it before. I decided to give it a shot and used this recipe. He absolutely loved it and that was the biggest compliment! I followed the recipe exactly, but made two round cakes and used fresh strawberries instead of cherries. I will defiately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
this was pretty easy and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North York, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
So delicious & easy to make!!! I've had some not so good tres leches, but after seeing the ratings on this recipe I thought that I would give it a try. I didn't use quite as much of the milk that it asks for, and it turned out perfect...not too soggy. I also ended up with enough milk left to make another cake. Will Definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States