Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is the best tres leches recipe I've tried so far. I did take some advice from previous posts though. I added a little confectioners sugar to the whipping cream. Normally you would top this cake with either cherries or berries. My husband doesn't like berries very much so I put sliced banana between the cake and whipped cream. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristy
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I made this for my boyfriends mother's birthday and she loved it! this is the first time I've made it but not the last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Great recipe that tasted best the next day. I found that I needed to trim the sides of my cake so that it could absorb the milks evenly and used more of the milk mixture than called for. I would recomend frosting with the stabilized whipped cream recipe found on this site so that it will hold up a bit better than a regular whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Thisvtasted oh so delicious!! I made it just the way the recipe calls for it, although mine didnt need so much time in the oven, 25 mins was enough. True authentic hispanic tres leches flavor! I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnhoward

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Narrows, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This cake did not need the whip cream topping, it was perfect with some fresh berries on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarajean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Only needed to bake 30min at most! Although the flavor on this cake is great thanks to the tres leches the cake was dense and somewhat dry in spite of the milks being poured. I've had better and moister versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I made this for a family party this weekend. We are from El Paso and used to really good pastel de tres leches. Of all the recipes I've tried so far, this one comes closest to the cake I love. I made the recipe exactly as specified, except I omitted the cherries, and sifted cinnamon on top of the whipped cream before piping a border of whipped cream on top of the frosted cake. In all, this cake was a huge hit with my family, and I will definitely be using this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was my first time making and eating a tres leches cake. I was skeptical because the thought of a soggy cake grossed me out! This was a very nice surprise though! I did cut back about 1/2 cup on the milk mixture and it was perfect! Not dry at all but not a soppy mess. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennicampis
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is my first time ever baking from scratch. This was a great recipe and I managed to get it right! This cake has great quality, it tastes just like from the mexican bakery! (only you are saving A LOT of money!) Just remember, let it soak in the fridge for a couple hours, all the milk tastes better cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was an amazing cake!!! It was also very easy to make. I love baking, and my best friend suggested that I try Tres Leches cake. I will admit, I was skeptical, but tried it anyway. I am so glad I did!! My entire family loved it. I will definitely be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSailorsGirl03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States