Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
No problems with the cake falling here. It came out nice and tall. I barely sweetened to whipped cream because I was worried it would be too sweet otherwise (I used 1 tablespoon sugar to 1-1/2 cups cream). I'm glad I didn't use more. The cake was really sweet. A bit too sweet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I wish this recipe described how to fold in the egg whites a little better. My cake sank, just as a lot of people said. I thought maybe this was normal because my son says it is supposed to be dense. Well, I looked up how to fold in egg whites after the fact. Put about a third of the whipped egg white into the batter, and gently mix it in to 'temper' the batter, which will make it easier to mix in the rest of the egg white. Hold the bowl over the mixing bowl containing your batter, and tilt it so that the egg whites slide out into the batter. Using a large spatula, cut a path down the middle of the mixture with the edge of the spatula. Then gently turn half the mixture over onto the other half. Continue cutting down the middle and turning a portion over. Don't stir. The purpose of folding is to retain the air you have beaten into the whites. Be careful to only work the batter enough to incorporate the whites, and never use an electric mixer for this step. Mixing the egg whites into the batter too much will cause your cake to sink. My cake still tasted good, even though it sank. My son requested it for his birthday, and my husband thought it sounded gross. But once he tried it, he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie
Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I lost the recipe I had, but it looks much like this one! This is amazing cake. Made it for my son twice for birthdays. Will make him another when he comes home...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This recipe was AMAZING. The recipe does call for white sugar,and I took that to mean regular granulated sugar not confectioners sugar and it came out really good. Also it said to cook for 45 to 50 minutes but in my oven it only took 25. Overall it was SUPER YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Mmmmm this cake was so yummy!! I used granulated sugar and it worked fine (rather than confectioner's). However, when you whip the cream, you need to add some vanilla and a few teaspoons of confectioner's sugar to make it sweet. I followed this recipe, but checked the reviews, and added the milk mixture to the cake when it came out of the oven. Everyone was so impressed! I made this for Valentine's Day (we had tacos for dinner) and topped with chopped strawberries. Delicious! Thanks again for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCooper1182

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
very good and easy. But will try adding cream of tartar to the egg whites next time to see if it will help maintain the height I was looking for. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Wonderful cake -- perfect for orthodox Christmas! I used the remaining milk sauce for french toast the next day. Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe but don't discard that extra cup of milk mixture! Refrigerate it and right before serving a piece of cake, pour a little bit of the cold milk mixture onto the plate and place the cake on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Made this for Christmas and it was gone in less than 10 minutes. It was sweet and delicious. The only changes I made were in the topping. I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and 1/2 cup of powdered sugar because the heavy whipping cream was not very sweet but it came out great! Gonna make it again for New Years. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have never baked nor eaten a Tres Leches cake, but my husband wanted me to make one for a mexican event we were having with friends. I was terrified because one of the men mentioned that he eats this cake every time he's in Mexico. But...he LOVED it...he raved about it, as did everyone else! I followed the recipe to a tee except I did add some powdered sugar and vanilla to the whipped cream icing and I garnished it with strawberries instead of cherries. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheridlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States