Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Awesome cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Littleseed
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I was leary about adding all the milk so I only added half - my next attempt will add what the recipe calls for and I used a chop stick to poke the holes. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
My 10 year old daughter made this by herself in a 9 x 12 glass dish. It turned out amazing! We added sweet-n-low to the whip cream to make it sweet. Other than that, she didn't change anything. Fruit is NOT necessary and may dominate the flavor if used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This could have been something I did but my cake "deflated"/collapsed some and did not keep its height when taken out of the oven. BUT no one noticed after I put the whipped topping on! I used a 13x9 inch pan and forked it while it was still warm, turned out amzing! I refrigerated the cake overnight and then added the topping an hour or so before serving. People went back for seconds ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I have searched for the perfect tres leches recipe, and I can now end my search! This recipe hit it right on. Some tips I would offer to 'first-timers' is: When you fold in the egg whites, be very careful not to over-mix them in. If you must choose, under-mix them in, but overt mixing will result in flat-custard like cake-yuck! Secondly, This cake tastes better if you let it sit for a day or two in the fridge (the perfect make ahead dessert!) Only don't frost it until the day you serve it. The receipe said to trow out the remaining milk, but I like mine extra moist, so I saved it and added it on serving day, and the cake soaked it right up. Lastly, whip up the remaining cream with about 1/4 c sugar and 1 tsp vanilla for the frosting. Yum! Recipe says garnish with cherries, but I prefer lots and lots of fresh fruit and berries. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah p

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I took the advice of another reviewer and used a white cake mix for the cake. Also, I used one cup of whole milk, and one cup of coconut milk ... came out absolutely fantastic and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Really liked this recipe. Will be making it again. Also, it is easy to just do the cake part when you don't have all the canned milk on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I thought this was excellent! Next time I will use more of the milk sauce. It tasted best where it was soaked through. It also tasted better the next day. I added a touch of pwdr. sugar and vanilla to the Whipped Cream. I will make this often now. I think I will caramelize some of the condensed milk next time and see if it is good. I am thinking with a caramel flavor it will be PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
The Cake was easy to make only took 25 min in the oven with 2- 9in round pans. Let it sit in the fridge with the milk for 2 hours before icing it. Everyone enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This cake was great! Made 2 of them for Cinqo de Mayo party. Forgot the baking powder in the first cake. No biggie. They both went over pretty well. I also used strawberries instead of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States