Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I thought this cake was exceptionally yummy! It didn't look as nice as the one pictured, but was delicious all the same. The cooking time on my cake because of the high altitude was 40 minutes. I also left it in the the glass dish it was baked in. I just let it cool completely before pouring the liquid in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
awesome!! it's pretty much a mexican better-than-sex cake, if you've ever had one of those. i used whole wheat flour with this cake and it still turned out really good, but next time i would use all-purpose to achieve the texture this cake is supposed to have. also, don't discard 1 cup of the milks! i followed this step, but next time i'll only discard a 1/2 cup because i think it could have been even a little gooey-er :) overall though: delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Wonderful! My daughter graduated from college yesterday, and she requested a Mexican menu for the family celebration party. This was one of the recipes of her choosing. It was very moist and yummy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is a basic sponge cake recipe soaked in a milk mixture. A succesful sponge cake requires proper treatment of the egg, at every step. The egg whites form the body or lightness of the cake. It is extremely important to properly fold the whites into the batter. Too much folding and you have a flat cake. Too little folding and you will have "chewy" pieces from unincorporated egg white. The 1/4 c. granulated sugar should be added to the egg whites before whipping, as sugar helps build peaks, prevents overbeating, and dissolves in liquid egg. I don't know why some reviewers thought white sugar meant powdered sugar, but sponge cakes are made with granulated sugar. I substituted cake flour (1 c. + 2 T.), added a pinch of salt, and the cake was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca V2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I had no problems with this recipe as others did with the cake collapsing. I thought it was perfect. Before icing the cake, I cut it in half and placed sliced strawberries between the layers, then soaked it in the milk mixture. A bakery where I live adds the fruit in the middle and I think it is just delicious. I will use this recipe again, thanks for another great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daltry
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
My boyfriend absolutely LOVES this cake! He always asks me to make this for him for any occasion. As for me, I like the cake, but wouldn't say love. Something about the texture is not quite right, but as for flavor, it's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daltry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This recipe worked great for me. My husband does not like cake but this is his favorite. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This cake came out just like the ones from the bakery. I am so excited about it still! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
From a white girl's point of view this cake is great! However, my mexican friend said that the cake was too dense; I think I didn't beat the egg whites long enough :-( other than my mess up, this was a simple and straight forward recipe--next time I will spend more time on the eggs whites and use a bundt cake pan so the batter will rise a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I just finished eating this Tres Leches cake after a very sweet co-worker of mine made it for my birthday. I think the cake was perfect. I have tried other cakes that were similar but never got the real effect of TRES LECHES!! I mean it's like no other ordinary cake. It's got a whole lot of milk products in it and it came out in every bite. MOIST MOIST MOIST CAKE! YUM!!! :) THANKS CARLA and ALLRECIPES.COM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States