Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I have never made this type of cake before. But directions were easily followed and turned out amazing! I made it the night before for a ladies get-together and they raved about it. Topped with fresh strawberries is incredible! Can't wait to try fresh rasberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Yum. Cool cake upside down (like all sponge cakes) and it won't fall. I wish I would have used all the milk mixture and I will the next time I make this cake. I like it to ooze the milk when I put my fork in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I thought this cake was exceptionally yummy! It didn't look as nice as the one pictured, but was delicious all the same. The cooking time on my cake because of the high altitude was 40 minutes. I also left it in the the glass dish it was baked in. I just let it cool completely before pouring the liquid in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
awesome!! it's pretty much a mexican better-than-sex cake, if you've ever had one of those. i used whole wheat flour with this cake and it still turned out really good, but next time i would use all-purpose to achieve the texture this cake is supposed to have. also, don't discard 1 cup of the milks! i followed this step, but next time i'll only discard a 1/2 cup because i think it could have been even a little gooey-er :) overall though: delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Wonderful! My daughter graduated from college yesterday, and she requested a Mexican menu for the family celebration party. This was one of the recipes of her choosing. It was very moist and yummy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is a basic sponge cake recipe soaked in a milk mixture. A succesful sponge cake requires proper treatment of the egg, at every step. The egg whites form the body or lightness of the cake. It is extremely important to properly fold the whites into the batter. Too much folding and you have a flat cake. Too little folding and you will have "chewy" pieces from unincorporated egg white. The 1/4 c. granulated sugar should be added to the egg whites before whipping, as sugar helps build peaks, prevents overbeating, and dissolves in liquid egg. I don't know why some reviewers thought white sugar meant powdered sugar, but sponge cakes are made with granulated sugar. I substituted cake flour (1 c. + 2 T.), added a pinch of salt, and the cake was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca V2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I had no problems with this recipe as others did with the cake collapsing. I thought it was perfect. Before icing the cake, I cut it in half and placed sliced strawberries between the layers, then soaked it in the milk mixture. A bakery where I live adds the fruit in the middle and I think it is just delicious. I will use this recipe again, thanks for another great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daltry
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
My boyfriend absolutely LOVES this cake! He always asks me to make this for him for any occasion. As for me, I like the cake, but wouldn't say love. Something about the texture is not quite right, but as for flavor, it's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daltry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This recipe worked great for me. My husband does not like cake but this is his favorite. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This cake came out just like the ones from the bakery. I am so excited about it still! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States