Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Very involved recipe(I really prefer simple ones) but the results are rich & excellent. Not the thing to eat if you're trying to lose weight, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
What is with this cake? I made it twice with bad results. I followed the directions exactly, and it came out of the oven looking like a quesadilla, one inch thick! Nothing like the picture. I didn't even frost it. I will not try this one again. What a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I did this cake today; I follow all the instructions and it came beautiful and delicious...thank you!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
WOW! This was sooo delicious! I was a bit wary about the idea of a soggy cake, but it was anything BUT soggy! I used this recipe for my daughter's 7th b-day party (she requested a mecican fiesta), so I figured this would be a nice alternative to a regular cake, and it did not dissappoint. Everyone at her party had seconds, which didn't leave us any left-overs. The only thing I changed was fresh strawberries instead of maraschino cherries since they were in season! Thank you so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This is a delicious, super moist cake. It is very easy to prepare, but requires a bit of time. After the cake is baked, it must cool completely before pouring the milk mixture on top of it. Then, you should allow the flavors to congeal in the refrigerator for several hours or overnight. Believe me, it is worth the wait! I use mandarin oranges as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This cake is as good as everyone says. My kids beg me to make it every week now! I've made it for bbq's and taken it as a housewarming gift with a nice plate and there always "mmmmm's" and smiles at the first bite. However, and this is important, they only loved it once I kept that extra cup of milk mixture in. Without it the cake is too dry. So don't waist any of it! It's just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This recipe makes a good basic sponge which doesn't shrink or shrivel upon cooling. However this is one cake which requires you to really REALLY like the taste of milk. I know it sounds silly to say that but I was very overwhelmed by the milkiness. You really must cut the milk syrup mix by half for if you tried using all of it, you're just wasting for it seepes out of the cake. In terms of taste and texture, despite sogginess, it was rich, sweet and creamy. I much prefered it on the third day when it became less sweet, more flavourful and no longer a sugar bomb. A good way to counter this is to cut the cake up into tiny little squares( think indian sweets) and serve them bute sized. I give this four stars for it makes a good base cake to experiment with different flavours( I made it using rose milk) and only four because it makes way too much milk syrup. Maybe I'll try experimenting with bailey's or chocolate or strawberry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENISM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
We all really enjoyed this cake!!!!! I have never tried a leches cake befor so I did not know what to expect, but i was told this was a very good one. I was worried about the amount of eggs but I was wonderful. Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I have never made this type of cake before. But directions were easily followed and turned out amazing! I made it the night before for a ladies get-together and they raved about it. Topped with fresh strawberries is incredible! Can't wait to try fresh rasberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States