Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Awesome cake. Fairly complex to make considering the number of steps involved, as well as the number of utensils required (it's somewhat messy). The result, however, was REALLY good and most definitely worth the work. The cake was such a hit it didn't last very long at all in the fridge; we ate it so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherny2004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Everyone I shared this with raved that it is an amazing dessert. I will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Grimshaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I have made this several times as well as a few other recipes on the site. Hands-down, this is always the best. I actually beat my egg whites first, save and fold in when whent the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
everyone loved this cake was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Beaufort, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This was my first attempt at baking a cake from scratch and I loved it. I think that I may have undercooked it for fear of burning the bottom because it collapsed when out of the oven. Otherwise, it was delicious! I can't wait to try it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I have made this several times with great results. I do not care for the taste of evaporated and condensed milks so I like to play with other flavors to mask the milk taste. I have used rum, coconut, white chocolate, chocolate and a favorite with my customers and friends is a tiramisu/coffee tres leches. I also sweeten the whipping cream and garnish according to the flavor i use. Another delicious idea is to slice the cake into 2 layers and add a fruit filling. All ideas are better served the second day! This is a great recipe to play around with...have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This recipe was sooo good. I was even told it was better than store bought Tres Leches.. mmm mmm mmm :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca420
Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Really good but not worth the effort, to me. I'll just get one at the local Mexican bakery. But for people who can't just go get one, it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by White Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Healdsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is a really nice cake. Like some other reviewers, I sweetened the whipped cream with powdered sugar and added a bit of vanilla. Instead of frosting the cake, I just served it with a big dollop of the sweetened whipped cream and some nice strawberries. It looked great and tasted great too. The next day, I drizzled caramel sauce on a dessert plate, put a piece of the cake on top, and added a dollop of cream on the side. It was a nice change but very good too. I put to good use the cup of cream mixture that is discarded from the recipe. I served it over berries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I had heard of this cake and tried it at a Mexican restaurant and thought it was okay but blah. I made this recipe thinking one you make it home would be much better. It came out great, looked great and tasted okay but just not much flavor. I will not make it again - it's not the recipe but just not to my taste. I even added strawberries and sweetened the whipped cream topping but still blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Bruce Isselhardt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States