Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This cake is simply awesome! Melts in your mouth delicious, but very rich. Only suggestions - probably don't need to use as much of the whipped topping as called for in the recipe. Also, make sure the batter is fairly well leveled flat or the milk will pool along the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I lived in Guatemala for a few months and ate this cake almost everyday for the last few weeks I was there. This recipe is a great reproduction! I was amazed and delighted... already can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Be sure to let this cake soak for several hours- at least 8- before you eat it! We didn't have the patience, and ate some of it after just a few hours. It was okay, but when we finished it later on after many more hours had gone by it was significantly better. The recipe is quite authentic and good. One more tip, be sure to mix the vanilla in with the wet ingredients before you add the flour. It seems obvious, but the recipe doesn't make that clear, and if you toss the vanilla on top of the flour it will make little vanilla-flour balls in your cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was really good and not hard. I like that this recipe separates the eggs for a true sponge cake. Remember to discard 1cup of the milk as the recipe states. I made it for poker night. Surprisingly, no one had heard of it before, so I didn't think they would like it, but was a BIG hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
made this for my husband's birthday-the directions were easy to follow and the result was a really delicious cake! I was skeptical about the milk mixture-it took a while to absorb and never did fully, even having removed 1 cup of it. I only made two slight adjustments-For the flour, I used cake flour-seems like it just helps in keeping a lighter cake, well, light! I also used super fine sugar-it disolves easier and doesn't weigh down the cake, especially when you add it to the egg whites. It was fantastic tasting! Will make it again in a heart beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieWendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by bakingaddict
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I made a 2 layer cake (doubled the recipe), soaked both cakes with the milk mixture. Decorated with strawberries but next time I think I'll puree fresh strawberries and put it in the middle layer along with the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingaddict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This recipe is amazing! The only thing I changed was that I didn't whip any cream to frost the cake with. I stand by the decision - it's moist and creamy enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asmyr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
We made this for my son's birthday today and it was the best I've ever had. We had Tres Leches in Guatemala, my friend from Honduras made it periodically, and from various places in the US and this was as good or better than anything else we've had. We followed the recipe almost exactly except did it in a 9x13 cakepan instead of springform. We also added about 1/4 cup powdered sugar to the whipped cream topping and topped with sliced strawberries. Thanks so much for this recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out very well. I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I'll give this 3 stars, only becuase I haven't tasted it yet (maybe it's delicious!) but it looks like a flattened hourglass. So I'm not necessarily writing this to critique the cake, but for some tips on how I could get this cake to turn out like it should. Made it for my boyfriend for his birthday...luckily he rates things on how they taste, rather than on how they look. :) But seriously, if anyone has any pointers, bring 'em on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States