Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
First time I Had tres leches was recently and it was absolutely delicious. Decided to make it, using Monica's recipe. Made it twice with the same result - flat cake. I followed the recipe very closely. I was so disappointed that I couldn't make it especially since it was supposed to be dessert for Easter Sunday. :( I have no idea what I did wrong twice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe. Moist and delicious. Too many reviewers don't have experience baking and don't understand the directions. White sugar is granulated sugar and if your cake comes out flat is because you did not follow/understand the directions. Folding egg whites into the batter is a delicate process and is where people are making the mistake and over mixing. That or you forgot the baking powder. It is a shame people are allowed to write reviews when they did not understand the directions and are inexperienced bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great cake recipe. Easy to make for sure. This cake is not from Mexico, FYI it's from Cuba and moved to Miami and there in Miami is where it became very famous. It is a Cuban recipe brought to Cuba by the spaniards. Another country that uses this recipe a lot is Nicaragua, because of the influence of the Cubans during the exodus during castro's takeover. One if the best ones I've ever had is in the Havana Restaurant in West Palm Beach, FL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was amazing!!!! Made it for thanksgiving and it was a definite HIT!! The only things I changed is I beat the whites with the sugar at the same time. Also I poured while hot the 1 can of condensed milk, 1 can of evaporated milk and measured in the evaporated milk can half regular milk and half whipping cream. It was delish super moist, spongy, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Excellent, unique and relatively healthy (as far as cakes go). No butter and only 1 cup of sugar (plus sugar in condensed milk). Here are some tips (ignore everyone else :p): Bake for the recommended time. This cake will look finished on the outside after 15 minutes into baking. For newcomers to cooking, when the recipe says beat the eggs until soft peaks form (firm) this will take a while, especially if whisking by hand. The difference between firm peaks and stiff peaks is in the shape of the peak...if it looks like this ^ it's stiff.... if the peak settles down a little bit, but is still raised with a point, that is what you are shooting for (firm). THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT! If you don't get the eggs to this point your cake will not be spongy enough and will not absorb the milk properly. I used all of the milk and it turned out great :D Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Very good. Only substitution I made was substituting cake flour (1 c. + 2 T.) and added a pinch of salt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
delicious , almost taste like a custard . love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yessenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I tasted this cake first in Honduras and loved it. This recipe is as close as I have been able to come to that experience. Everybody who tastes it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
All that talk about tres leches cake on the buzz , it got me motivated to finally make it after being so intimidated for a long time. I haven't had tres leches cake for almost 10 years. I chose this recipe from judging on the milk listed and technique. Anywho, this cake was fabulous!!! I made as written but wanted a touch of cinnamon to my milk mixture. I didn't taste any cinnamon because i added too little so next time I will double dash it and see if I like it best with it. Stay tuned....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Made this cake for a party at work and everyone LOVED IT! Needless to say, there wasn't anythig left over! Will be making this again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States