Trees, Seeds, and Beans (Broccoli Slaw) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I really liked this and so did my family! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Very very good! I threw this together quickly for a side dish for dinner last night. It didn't get to cool for an hour in the fridge, but it was still tasty! The dressing is still a little runny after sitting in the fridge overnight, so I might try to find a way to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Great recipe but as a diabetic I made some changes. I use mayo made with olive oil, white wine vinegar and Stevia leaf drops (1 cup mayo, 1 tsp liquid stevia and 2 tbsp. white wine vinegar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used fat-free mayo, reduced the sugar by about half, and added a few extra pepper flakes and it turned out great. I love the contrast of the creamy dressing with the spicy pepper flakes! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Tasty sweet/tangy dressing that stretched farther than for 2.5c of broccoli (could easily double the amount of broccoli). I did NOT cook the broccoli. I used pepitas, pine nuts, and craisins in lieu of the sunflower seeds and raisins (it's what I had on hand). No garbanzos as they weren't in the house. Also used apple cider vinegar. I might use slightly less vinegar and sugar next time. But only slightly; it's delicious as written. I'll definitely make it again! (Over and over!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I made this for 10 servings. I added baking soda to water to make the broccoli brighter as another reviewer suggested. This is a new trick for me! I plumped up the raisins in hot water, then drained them before adding to veggies. I used low fat and regular mayo in 50/50 ratio to lower the fat a little. I substituted roasted pine nuts because I had them on hand. This is wonderful and I am going to use THIS sauce for my cole slaw in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This was good! Loved the flavor! Changes I made this time: Used apple cider vinegar, cut down the sugar by one TBSP (personal taste), added baking soda to the water for the broccoli to really bring out the green, used craisins instead of raisins. (It's what I had on hand!) Next time I would- Not cook the broccoli! (More nutrition and more crunch raw!) Thanks for a great recipe! I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I was looking for a new garbanzo salad recipe that also had broccoli and stumbled upon this one. I changed ingredients up a bit - for the dressing, used 2 tbsp cider vinegar and 2 tbsp mayo with 1 tsp table sugar and a few drops of liquid stevia. I grated the carrot, and used fresh broccoli blanched in the microwave. I was not inspired to use any kind of herb or spice so I didn't doctor it at all in that way, using only salt and pepper. The non-spiced flavors of all the ingredients were good, but it was missing something. Maybe Rock_Lobster, or someone else, will try it and offer suggestions? Maybe I'll be inspired myself when I have the rest for lunch today! Thanks for the recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Liked the combination of seeds, broccoli, carrots and raisins, but did not like dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States