Transformed Spinach Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Successful recipe! I made a few revisions. Reduced butter to 2 Tbps & based on other reviewers' comments, I reduced the eggs to 3, cheese to 4 oz, mushrooms to 6 oz, spinach to 4 oz. I also used 1/2 c heavy cream + 1/4 c almond milk in place of the regular milk. To prevent soggy crust, I prebaked my 9 inch crust and sauteed the mushrooms and spinach till most of the moisture was gone, then added the seasonings to the veggies. When assembling the pie, I sprinkled 2/3 of the cheese in the bottom of the prebaked crust as a moisture barrier. Veggies, then custard mixture, and pushed the veggies down into the custard. Baked 40 min at 375, then added remaining cheese to top & covered the exposed pie crust with foil to prevent burning. Baked another 10 min. DH tasted and proclaimed "Now THAT's a quiche!" but said it was a tad too salty. Next time I'll add the cheese moisture barrier during the last 5 minutes of prebaking the crust and cover the crust with foil when assembling the pie + reduce the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This is a soggy mess. By the time you fill a 9" pie with 5 ounces of spinach, the egg mixture is baking outside of the pan. After an hour and a half of hard work, you anticipate it to come together. Unfortunately, there is some flaw with the recipe and I don't have the time or patience to read all the reviews that try to correct the mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Prepared in tart shells for individual servings. Too much spinach mixture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol Gerdl
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is great! Many flavors and enjoyed by both Men and Ladies. Very quick and easy to assemble considering all fresh ingredients. Thanks for the GOOD EATS..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This turned out quite well! I was doubtful at first as the filling piled very high. But, it all settled just fine and came out very tasty. I would cube the onion and make it finer next time as well as saute with the garlic and cooling it before using it in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Best Quiche I've ever tasted - and easy to make. I'm a bad cook, and I've done this several times without messing up. The cheese give it a fantastic flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. However I do have to squash the spinach and veg down about halfway through cooking to prevent it from burning. As long as it's covered in the egg mixture it's fine. Also I've found the edges of the crust need to be lower than the edge of the pie dish or they get too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Fantastic! Didn't change a thing. It was a big hit on Mothers Day and it didn't make it past dinner that night. Everyone will love this, including the kids, just don't tell em there's spinach in it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I used kale instead of spinach and it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Yummy recipe, but plan on baking it in two pans. I tried it in one and it overflowed everywhere. Of course, it didn't help that I forgot to add the cheese (a hanging offense in my house) and had to go back and stir it in after I added the egg. I, too, sauteed the onion, mushroom, and spinach before putting it in the pan. We aren't big feta cheese people, so I left it out and increased the salt by 1/4 tsp. Next time, I'm going to do it in 2 pans and add chopped black olives and some artichoke hearts. That's the beauty of quiches: you can add pretty much anything and it winds up tasting good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bianchiveloce
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
After sauteing a half of a red onion (Julienne cuts) and Baby Portobello mushrooms in Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO), I wilted some fresh Baby Spinach and added some Julienne cut Roma Tomatoes. For my egg mixture, I used 4 large eggs, 3/4 cup Heavy Cream, two cloves of minced garlic, nutmeg, salt, pepper, fresh basil and oregano from my herb garden. To bake, I layered the bottom of my pie shell with mozzarella cheese followed by the spinach mixture and then the egg mixture poured on top. Wooooooo, Buddy! This was the absolute best quiche I've ever made. It was an "Out of This World Meal" which earned me the prized and golden Stamp of Approval (SOA) from Mi Gato Loco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bianchiveloce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States