Trail Mix Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Awesome healthy cookies! These are definitely a perfect base for an "everything" cookie. These are the changes I made - partly out of necessity and partly because I am health-conscious! - I used unsweetened applesauce - Heaping 1/2 cup brown sugar only (omitted white). - 1 whole egg and 1/2 of a banana mashed - handful of sesame seeds - 1/4 cup walnuts and 1/4 sunflower seeds - 1/2 cup white and milk chocolate chips (no craisins or raisins on hand). - whole wheat flour Because I improvised a bit, I ended up having an overly sticky dough at the end so added an extra 1/4 cup of flour. I made the cookies quite large (1 1/2 dozen) and so baked them for 10 minutes. Perfect! The result is a very yummy and pretty healthy cookie - one I don't feel bad about allowing my two year old to have. Next time, I may cut the brown sugar back again to just 1/2 cup... and keep the rest of my changes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Oh my! These were delicious! I made a few alterations, however. I didn't have applesauce in the house, so I used 1/2 cup of vanilla yogurt. This seemed to work great. I also used a 1/2 cup of splenda in place of the sugar and only 1/3 cup of chocolate chips. I'm not a fan of nuts in my cookies, so I left them out. The description of the cookie said they weren't very sweet, but I thought they were PLENTY sweet. I will definitely be making these again! It's an awesome alternative when you're craving something sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
these cookies are soooo wonderful!! i used cinnamon applesauce and splenda instead of the white sugar. i also made a half batch without chocolate chips for my milk-allergic daughter, so i love that this recipe doesn't include butter so she can enjoy too! i baked mine for 7 minutes and they stayed pretty soft, as we like them. they're enough to curb the sweet tooth without the major guilt trip later :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Fantastic! I made a few revisions because I baked these at home during a snow day and I think they turned out amazing! I added one over ripe banana, some coconut, and substituted golden raisins and dried blueberries for the cranberries. Really folks, OUTSTANDING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I made these cookies with figs instead of dried cranberries and they turned out wonderful with a pleasant chewy texture that I like to have in a cookie. My friend next door said they were delicious and healthy to boot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These are very good! I'm a health nut and am always looking for healthy alternatives to cookies and these are it! I didn't add quite as many chocolate chips though and they were really good. I did find that for my first batch 10 minutes was too long because they got a little dried out, but 9 minutes was perfect. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Excellent! I baked for 11 minutes. Used pecans instead of walnuts. These are as good as any full fat cookies I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
These turned out great. I beat the egg whites but also added the yolks to the sugar/applesauce mix (couldn't throw them away...). Other than that I followed the recipe with the addition of 1/4 cup flour to counter for the extra egg yolks. Baked for 10 minutes. They came out soft and delicious. I might try a little less white sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buttercup2746
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
These were delicious, I omitted the cranberries and I also used whole wheat flour instead of regular flour. I made them for my husband to take on a weekend kayaking trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttercup2746

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Awesome! I work-out a lot and I like to sneak in protein wherever I can so I substituted 1/2 the flour with chocolate protein powder, and also substituted the chocolate chips for unsweetened carob chips (much healthier) and only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar (no white sugar). I think next time I may try to take out the brown sugar altogether, and replace it with agave nectar or splenda. Overall, I loved these, especially the way they "fluff" up in the oven! These are my new power bar ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States