Trail Blazer Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BadPancake
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This was great on ribs. I cooked the ribs for an hour in a rice cooker with 3/4 cup of this sauce, 1/2 cup broth, and 6 ounces beer. The only change I made was to add a few drops of Sriracha hot sauce when it was simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Great sauce. I plan to tweak it a bit, but this is a really good start. It's not too sweet, not too vinegary, not too ketchupy, not too mustardy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Great sauce. Used it on chicken wings in the crockpot. Yum. Plan to keep some in the frig. for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Excellent sauce, but the recipe was far too tangy for me, so I added an extra 1/4 cup of brown sugar. After that minor change, DELICIOUS with the leftover sliced brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I give this a 4 star review, with the 5th being because of my twist and additions to it. I like to use recipes as a base, and the tailor them to my liking. Sooo....here's what I did. I added 2 diced jalapenos, 1 diced poblano pepper, 1 (7oz) can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, a dash of cumin, a splash or two of liquid smoke. It starts with a hint of sweet and heats up as it finishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Weir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I've never really liked any homemade barbecue sauces, but I think that's just because I hadn't yet stumbled on this GREAT sauce--it's zingy with a great spicy finish. I didn't have enough chili powder on hand, so I improvised the chili powder with cayenne, cumin, a bit of garlic powder, and paprika, and also added ground black pepper which made it nice and toasty tasting. I have a habit of improvising as I cook, even when I try new recipes (oops) In any case, here's a list of the additions I put into my batch of sauce: Soy sauce (low sodium, though that's just a personal preference. Frank's Spicy sweet sauce a bit extra brown sugar and the improvised chili powder I mixed up I used this sauce in a crockpot with some pork chops, and WOW were they good, and tender! I plan on trying chicken next :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirksville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
it was fantastic ~ alot better than bought sauces. everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whendee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Very tasty! I used this bbq sauce on bbq chicken and my family loved it! I saved the left overs and put it on everything! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
My first attempt at homemade BBQ sauce- what took me so long? Pretty darn tasty- only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because I had nothing to compare it to. I really like the texture that the blender gives, and it makes for a nice even flavor. Froze half of it and it tasted just as good after thawing as it did when I first made it. Used it to dress a southern pulled pork recipe from this site. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States