Trail Blazer Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
My first attempt at homemade BBQ sauce- what took me so long? Pretty darn tasty- only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because I had nothing to compare it to. I really like the texture that the blender gives, and it makes for a nice even flavor. Froze half of it and it tasted just as good after thawing as it did when I first made it. Used it to dress a southern pulled pork recipe from this site. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Very tasty! I used this bbq sauce on bbq chicken and my family loved it! I saved the left overs and put it on everything! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
it was fantastic ~ alot better than bought sauces. everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whendee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I've never really liked any homemade barbecue sauces, but I think that's just because I hadn't yet stumbled on this GREAT sauce--it's zingy with a great spicy finish. I didn't have enough chili powder on hand, so I improvised the chili powder with cayenne, cumin, a bit of garlic powder, and paprika, and also added ground black pepper which made it nice and toasty tasting. I have a habit of improvising as I cook, even when I try new recipes (oops) In any case, here's a list of the additions I put into my batch of sauce: Soy sauce (low sodium, though that's just a personal preference. Frank's Spicy sweet sauce a bit extra brown sugar and the improvised chili powder I mixed up I used this sauce in a crockpot with some pork chops, and WOW were they good, and tender! I plan on trying chicken next :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirksville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I give this a 4 star review, with the 5th being because of my twist and additions to it. I like to use recipes as a base, and the tailor them to my liking. Sooo....here's what I did. I added 2 diced jalapenos, 1 diced poblano pepper, 1 (7oz) can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, a dash of cumin, a splash or two of liquid smoke. It starts with a hint of sweet and heats up as it finishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Weir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Excellent sauce, but the recipe was far too tangy for me, so I added an extra 1/4 cup of brown sugar. After that minor change, DELICIOUS with the leftover sliced brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Great sauce. Used it on chicken wings in the crockpot. Yum. Plan to keep some in the frig. for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Great sauce. I plan to tweak it a bit, but this is a really good start. It's not too sweet, not too vinegary, not too ketchupy, not too mustardy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BadPancake
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This was great on ribs. I cooked the ribs for an hour in a rice cooker with 3/4 cup of this sauce, 1/2 cup broth, and 6 ounces beer. The only change I made was to add a few drops of Sriracha hot sauce when it was simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States