Trail Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
I liked it a lot but I also changed it a bit. First I used only 1/2 C. butter instead of 1 C.. I prefer less fat. I misread the instructions and didn't add the oats to the honey-butter mix as I was supposed to, which turned out fine. Maybe even better?!? I simply added the oats to all the other ingredients. To save more sugar and fat I skipped the chocolate. I wasn't sure about the second portion of honey either, so I simply added only 1/4 C. as stated in the instructions. The dried fruits I used were sweet too and I used more of it. You can always add a chocolate coating later on if it's not sweet enough for you with less honey. My other changes: I used almonds plus 1 C. raw pepitas instead of chocolate. 1 C. dates, coconut and apricots instead of a half cup of each, plus 1 Cup cranberries and a handfull plums. Turned out fine. Next time I will add some pumkin spice or allspice. The flavor developes more when the bars a kept in an airtight container for 1-2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
We have fixed this recipe to correct the amount of honey listed in the ingredients. The second time honey is used, it is only 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I thought this recipe was very good! Excellent to pack for hiking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
These bars are absolutly wonderful. Great for snacks on long car rides or just going for a walk. Super addictive!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I have substituted other dried fruit for the cranberries or half and half. I wrap indivdually great for camping trips and school
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I vegan-ized and reduced the fat in these. I used 1/2 C 'Buttery Sticks' and 1/2 C applesauce, and replaced the honey with maple syrup (I'm going to try agave nectar next time). I omitted the chocolate chips and used a little more dried fruit. I replaced the 2 eggs with 2 Tb. flax meal + 6 Tb. water. The bottom was very dense but that is probably due to my alterations. I will definitely be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I love these. I changed some of the dried fruits to use what I had in the larder , namely raisins and Cranberries and asst other fruits. I substituted half the honey for Malt extract, again because it was what I had in the larder but I've been a big fan of malt extract since I was a kid.. just ensure its NOT the Malt extract with added cod liver oil :-& I left out the chocolate chips inthe actual bars but melted some shocolate afterwards and dipped them base first to give them a chocolate coated bottom (perhaps not the healthiest option but delicious!) Yummy yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This was great! I made my own substitutions (used raisens instead of choc. chips, and part raisens/part sunflower seeds instead of apricots, also used a mix of almonds/pecans/walnuts instead of just almonds). I cooked it for 30 minutes without checking it & I was worried because it looked very dark on the edges (burnt I thought), but when I tasted it - it was great! It had a definite toasted honey/oatmeal flavor (which I loved!) I thought these might be like granola bars, but they are more like the texture of a bar cookie. Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Alot of butter, but fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
It was a good somewhat healthy snack. The extras I added were dried bluberries, dried fruit, raisins, coconut, pecans, wheat germ. I liked them all but the dried fruit. Although the dried bluberries were good in it. My family did not rave about it, but when we went hiking my 7 years old son liked it well enough. I bagged them in snack bags individually and stored them in the refrigerator for the lunchbox. They seemed to stay together better after I refrigerated them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Ostrowski-Callen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States