Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
So simple, so good. And yes, I use lard...rendered ourselves. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
it does make good bread i don't use as much salt and add a tbl spoon of honey but i just can't get this bread to make good slices for sandwiches it always falls apart no matter what i do the top is crumbly and the bottom is more dense i have adjusted temp time pans ect and still get the same results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I messed up the 2nd rise and still came out with delicious, fluffy, perfect bread! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sindeesluv
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I love this recipe. The bread turned out way better than I had hoped for. The crust is great and the inside is light and tasty. I would highly recommend that everyone try this. It is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sindeesluv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Best bread recipe that I have tried so far, it wasn't too sweet or too salty. I will be making this bread every week. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I had to keep adding flour almost 8 full cups to get the dough to come together the next time I will decrease the water but the taste was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Tried this recipe last year and loved it I have used it weekly ever since awesome bread and rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I have cooked this bread twice. I am not too familiar with making bread so the outcome what probably my fault. Both times, I had to add 2 more cups of flour to work it. After adding the prescribed amount of flour, the dough was just way too sticky and unmanageable. Adding the extra flour the bread turned out okay but not fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
It of the handful off recipes I've tried this is by far my favorite. It's simple enough to memorize. Easy to put together and give you wonderful, consistent loaves each time. Off you leave the brad dough it to rise too long you end up with a yeasty and alcoholic tasting loaves so if you're running behind our can't get to your dough when you thought you could throw it I'm the fridge for a few days and it will develop an incredible flavor! The extra long refrigerated rise is what really takes this brad to a 5 start recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is the closest I've gotten to store-bought bread. It's very soft, moist, springy. Delicious! I did substitute butter for lard and did rub butter onto the outside of the loaf immediately after removing from the oven. It definitely helps the crust (I hate a cripsy/hard crust). Used 12x4 pans and it made two not-so-tall loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States